For a band that has been going strong for four decades with a dozen albums already to their name, you may expect the Goo Goo Dolls to start taking life easier. With two of the four original members remaining, they don’t appear to be slowing down, as lead singer John Rzeznik has also taken on the job of producing one of their own albums for the very first time to mark their thirteenth album, Chaos In Bloom. Rzeznik and original member and bassist Robby Takac have been putting pen to paper and, while remaining true to their roots, have still managed to create an album that feels fresh while still being slightly nostalgic.

The album kicks off with a fast-paced acoustic tempo that introduces the anthem that is “Yeah, I Like You,” which on the surface is a feel-good song with an undertone that critiques celebrity culture. Towards the second half of the song, you are treated to a guitar solo that rips like sirens in an air raid. Leading on from this, “War” starts off in a similar fashion to “Yeah, I Like You,” a fair pacing that mellows out to lead onto the journey through the following eight tracks.

The album itself has elements that reflect on the world and culture from isolation in periods of lockdown but does not explicitly emphasize this, meaning it can be enjoyed without being taken back into this dark period in human history. The flow from start to finish is formulated well and makes for an easy listen, which can evoke emotion if you hone in or can make for a great backing track to accompany your day. While the last song finishes on a high, it may leave you wanting more! There’s no doubt that this will be a relatable album cross generation for fans, new and old.

Chaos In Bloom Track Listing:

1. Yeah, I Like You
2. War
3. Save Me From Myself
4. Let The Sun
5. Loving Life
6. Going Crazy
7. Day After Day
8. Past Mistakes
9. You Are The Answer
10. Superstar

Run Time: 39:17
Release Date: August 12, 2022
Record Label: Warner Records

Goo Goo Dolls by Claire Marie Vogel