Acclaimed UK metallic hardcore troupe Ithaca have announced their long-awaited second album, They Fear Us, will see release on July 29, 2022 via Hassle Records.

The band have also released the first single from the record, the scorching title track “They Fear Us”. Check out this soaring, fearsome taster for the album right here:

In the words of Ithaca: “We’re proud to present ‘They Fear Us’, the debut single from our second album.

We chose this as the first single because it reflects one of the big themes of the album – discovering and harnessing inner power, strength, revenge and retribution; challenging masculine power structures both in a general but also deeply personal sense. It’s a deific statement of intent – they may have hurt us before but now they fear us and you should too.

These ideas are reflected in the lyrics but also in the musical choices. The vocal sample is a field recording Sam made while he was in India grieving his mother’s death, of a priest leading a Ganga Aarti ceremony next to the Ganges – this ceremony invites Mother Ganga in and asks for her blessing, reflecting the power of the divine feminine. The drum break is pitched up to create a similar sound to a dhol.

We’re so happy to share music that we feel reflects who we truly are as a band, standing unapologetically as us.”

They Fear Us Track Listing:

1. In The Way
2. The Future Says Thank You
3. They Fear Us
4. Camera Eats First
5. Cremation Party
6. Number Five
7. Fluorescent
8. You Should Have Gone Back
9. Hold, Be Held

Artwork for “They Fear Us” by ITHACA

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.