Chickenfoot III is the latest release from the super group comprised of Sammy Hagar, Joe Satriani, Michael Anthony and Chad Smith and with a powerhouse lineup like this my expectations were set quite high, especially as a fan of all of their individual solo work. I must say though that after listening through this disc numerous times in its entirety, I found myself a bit disappointed.

I know it’s been nominated for a Grammy this year and I know it’s selling like crazy, but try as a might, I just could not dig into this record. Hagar’s voice still sounds great after all of these years, Anthony’s playing is solid and moves things along quite well and Smith’s time keeping is great, but the star of the show in my opinion is Satriani. In the midst of what feel are average rock songs he shines like a gem in the rough spicing them up with his tasteful shredding.

“Dubai Blues” and “Last Temptation” are two standout tracks where it seemed the stars aligned and all of the incredible talent assembled in the studio finally hit on all cylinders, resulting in a few brief magical moments of good, solid hard rock.

At the end of the day, even though all the individual performances are above average, for whatever reason I just could not sink my teeth into this one. I feel as though I’m missing something, but in my honest opinion when you put it all together this is an average disc at best.

Track Listing:

01. Last Temptation
02. Alright, Alright
03. Different Devil
04. Up Next
05. Lighten Up
06. Come Closer
07. Three and a Half Letters
08. Big Foot
09. Dubai Blues
10. Something’s Gone Wrong

Run Time: 45:12
Release Date: September 27, 2011

Check out the song: “Big Foot”