On September 8th, 2010, founding member Mike Portnoy left Dream Theater after 10 studio albums. A year and five days later the band released their 11th studio album entitled A Dramatic Turn Of Events which debuts new drummer Mike Mangini. The man has performed for Annihilator, Steve Vai, MullMuzzer, Extreme and James LaBrie’s solo project. Now the question is, does he have what it takes to play with Dream Theater?

Like every Dream Theater record the songs are lengthy with the longest track, “Breaking All Illusions”, clocking in at 12:25. Like previous album, Black Clouds & Silver Linings, DT have yet again taken a softer approach, teetering away from the metal side and concentrating on their melodics. Instrumentally this album is top notch (like every DT record), but James LaBrie’s vocals hang on the boring side of things. Personally, I feel this album was a little too soft for the band and one in which James LaBrie hides the power his voice.

Negatives aside, Dream Theater have successfully created another release which fans worldwide will enjoy, even with a new drummer. Congratulations to Mike Mangini, now he can truly be seen as a member of Dream Theater not a Mike Portnoy replacement.

Track Listing:

01. On The Backs Of Angels
02. Build Me Up, Break Me Down
03. Lost Not Forgotten
04. This Is My Life
05. Bridges In The Sky
06. Outcry
07. Far From Heaven
08. Breaking All Illusions
09. Beneath The Surface

Run Time: 1:17:01
Release Date: September 13, 2011

Check out the song: “On The Backs Of Angels”