Based on where we live, what we do, the inherent inequalities of life, there is so much that divides us. But there are certain things that all people, of all races, cultures, nationalities and so on, share in common. One of the most notable is our dreams, that unexplainable mental activity that’s totally out of our control. Heavy metallers Maitreya recognize the value of dreams with their new single and music video for “Bloom,” a rifftastic blast of progressive metal.

Just as broad as the ability to dream is, is the desire to control the dreams themselves. “Bloom” is a song expressed from the point of view of a dreamer who is tormented by their dreams until they finally figure out how to gain control. It can be frightening to be drowning in our own consciousness, and it’s that frantic energy that the band has attempted to harness creatively in this new single.

On the inspiration behind the song and its tone, the band commented “We wrote ‘Bloom’ after watching Waking Life, an experimental adult animated film written and directed by Richard Linklater. We were inspired by the concept of lucid dreaming, and the imaginative power that dreams hold. Drowning in your own consciousness can be quite scary, and we try to capture some of that energy in a creative way.”

“Bloom” is the lead track from Maitreya’s sophomore record Hyper Reels, locked and loaded, and set for release on June 25th. It’s the follow up to their 2017 self-titled debut, which exposed the Whitby, Ontario band to many different locales, in and around nearby Toronto.

Formed in 2016, the quintet is more a brotherhood, a collaborative expression of the human experience. Their polished sound is both riff-heavy and groove-centric, led by the twin guitar assault of primary songwriters Mark Wylie and Matt McCabe. Lead singer Matt Cutrara brings a dramatic and theatrical approach to his vocal performances, while bassist Lyam Morrison and drummer Steve McMillan seamlessly play off of each other like old pros.

Thematically, they tap into social commentaries on the impact of technological integration with human consciousness. This is grown man’s metal, as progressive, thought-provoking, and musically challenging as you could hope for.

Hyper Reels Track Listing:

1. Catalyst (7:23)
2. Departed (6:04)
3. Radical (5:31)
4. Summit (4:31)
5. Invaders (6:18)
6. Bloom (4:26)
7. Pilgrim (4:44)
8. Flesh Engine (4:31)
9. Hyper Reels (0:57)
10. Iswara (4:27)

Artwork for ‘Hyper Reels’ by Maitreya