The Skinny: After releasing 2009’s The Spotless Mind and 2011’s EP Qualia, Oregon’s math rockers Icarus The Owl are pleased to announce their brand new album Love Always, Leviathan. The Stephan Hawkes produced full-length will be released June 21st and will contain twelve tracks of technical pop-punk. The second single off Love Always, Leviathon, “What We Had Was Never Love”, is now being sold on Bandcamp.

Joey Rubenstein commented on the sound of the album by saying: “This album still has all the main attributes of Icarus The Owl. It is still very technical with odd time signatures, tap guitar, poly-rhythms among other aspects. ‘Love Always, Leviathan’ is our most technical work to date, but also our poppyest. The songs differ vastly track to track, ranging from everything between quirky pop songs to heavier technical songs. The last two tracks are both over six and a half minutes long, which is definitely something new for us.”

Love Always, Leviathan Track Listing:

01. The Hum Of A Ceiling Light
02. Nuclear Towns
03. What We Had Was Never Love
04. Tear Down The Mountain
05. Peppertree
06. Conversations With Dirt
07. Tag! No Bases
08. Rinse And Start Over
09. Frog In A Well
10. Swimming With Weights
11. Chemicals And Flesh
12. Love Always, Leviathan


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.