Variety! Variety! Variety!

That is the best way to describe Altitude, the newest release from Dutch rockers Autumn. Lots of beautiful harmonies combined with great songwriting and an avant-garde sensibility make Altitude a multi-layered and multi-dimensional CD that is a very enjoyable to listen to. Vocalist Marjan Welman voice is powerful when it needs to be and just as capable at conveying an almost ethereal mood when the situation dictates. The musicianship is fantastic and the instrumentation is fresh, innovative and highly creative.

At times the music is heavy and others almost dreamy and otherworldly. Autumn really defies any attempt to categorize them as they smoothly and adeptly transcends many different genres all at once, melding them to form what is a brilliant and very inventive CD. Altitude is a modern rock work of art that includes blazing guitar solos, varied tempo work and fantastic lyrical hooks that are attention-grabbing and listener-friendly. The powerful melodies and guitars, all serve as a background to the diverse vocals of front woman Marjan Welman.

Honestly, I like every song on this disc but after a second listen, I think that “Minor Dance” and “Liquid Under Film Noir” are my favorites.

Even though Altitude is not your typical metal fare, there is something on here for just about everyone. Granted you may not be banging your head to this one but if you are a fan of solid well written and very well produced music, you will not want to miss this one, it really is good.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Paradise Nox
02. Liquid Under Film Noir
03. Skydancer
04. Synchro-minds
05. The Heart Demands
06. A Minor Dance
07. Cascade( For A Day)
08. Horizon Line
09. Sulpher Rodents
10. Answers Never Questioned
11. Altitude

Run Time: 50:29