Australian cult-status post-punk sextet EXEK — singer Albert Wolski, guitarist Jai Morris-Smith, synthesist Andrew Brocchi, trumpeter and backing vocalist Valya YL Hooi, bassist Ben Hepworth, and Chris Stephenson on the drums — announce their forthcoming sixth full-length LP, The Map and the Territory, out October 6 via Foreign Records. To celebrate the announcement, the band also shares the record’s first single, “Welcome to my Alibi,” available now on all platforms.

Self-recorded throughout 2021 to 2022, frontman Albert Wolski describes The Map and the Territory as “perhaps less ambitious than some previous EXEK releases. In a positive way, obviously.”

Comprised of eight tracks, there is a greater focus on song craftsmanship, where elongated jams play second fiddle to choruses and hooks. These new tracks will translate effectively into a live environment and are destined to quickly become set favourites. And yes, of course, the iconic EXEK album soundmarks remain ever present – dubbed-out drums, guitars that sound like robots from Forbidden Planet, and deep synths that recall The Idiot. Stay tuned for more from EXEK in the coming weeks, purchase vinyl, and presave the album here!

The Map and the Territory Track Listing:

1. On the Ground Floor
2. Welcome to my Alibi
3 Seamstress Requires Regular Breaks
4. The Lifeboat
5. Warszawa Centralna
6. It’s Just a Flesh Wound, Darling
7. French Alps Insurance Group
8. Glow of Good Will

EXEK ‘The Map and the Territory’ album artwork
EXEK ‘The Map and the Territory’ album artwork

Lover of all things music, Vanessa De La Rosa has been involved in the music scene most of her life in different capacities. All genres welcome, she is a past master in the art of "nerding-out" with music, and is excited to explore that passion by sharing the stories of artists everywhere. Fan of: Festivals, gear, music production, all genres, supporting artists, concerts, and merch!