Spiritual Warfare and the Greasy Shadows Premiere Their ‘Ad Hoc’ Album

Unpredictable and diverse; press play on ‘Ad Hoc’ (Earth Libraries), the new album from Spiritual Warfare and the Greasy Shadows.



We got some spiritual warfare ready to break out on your speakers (or headphones) today, as we unveil the new album from Joel Marquard’s Spiritual Warfare and the Greasy Shadows. The latest project from the Phoenix singer-songwriter, Marquard is ready to drop Ad Hoc, the sophomore Spiritual Warfare record, via the Earth Libraries imprint. This album veers all over the place in the best ways possible, unpredictable and diverse, never giving you exactly what you expect, but consistently delivering what you like.

Despite its arrival, the release of the album was never a sure thing. As Marquard explains:

“After I finished making Ad Hoc, I decided to quit music. The album took a lot out of me and I needed a break. The house we were living in at the time in Idaho was maybe haunted by a sewing ghost because we kept finding sewing pins in the carpet. I ended up designing and sewing about seven handbags, some of which have plastic reproductions of animal mouths (like a bobcat) sewn into the side of them. Earth Libraries kept asking to press Ad Hoc to vinyl and I kept telling them no. I moved back to Phoenix… then the pandemic happened.

“The No Dogs In Space podcast played my song on their show and there was a new interest in the record and Earth Libraries once again asked to do a vinyl pressing and here we are today. I am working on a new album also.”

The twelve-track effort emphasizes the vast influences that have had a significant effect on Marquard, particularly Golden Era Bollywood, exotica, oldies, punk, Indian music, and even Italian film soundtracks. Early on after starting the project, Marquard made a rule that he would not use any drum kits, relying solely on the use of hand drums. It helps make for an organic, authentic sound, that adds an indigenous quality to the music. And despite its variety, Marquard manages to keep the album accessible, never overwhelming you with the breadth of his interests. He takes pride in the fact that everything you hear was created organically, and he does it all with punk rock integrity.

Get ready for a musical tour de force from which you will not emerge the same!

Ad Hoc Track Listing:

1. Take It Over
2. Angel of Death
3. Volcano Girls Intro
4. Volcano Girls
5. Death Was A Olympic Speedskater
6. Viewfinder
7. Showroom
8. Shook Loose
9. Money
10. Killa Jungle
11. R U My Killa

Artwork for the album ‘Ad Hoc’ by Spiritual Warfare and the Greasy Shadows


Exit mobile version