Album Review

Against The Current – “In Our Bones” [Album Review]

Pop-rock newcomers Against The Current have the world in their hands but have they delivered what the genre wants on their debut album In Our Bones. Read our review to find out…



These days, with there being a massive Paramore-sized hole in the pop-punk/pop-rock scene, the genre’s audience is looking for the next big thing, hence the meteoric rise of three-piece Against The Current. To be honest though, it comes as no shock that the Poughkeepsie, New York band are hitting the big time as their debut album, In Our Bones, is about as slick a slice of pop-drenched rock that you could ever wish for.

Clearly a band who know how to write polished, three minute cuts of edgy, modern pop, Chrissy Costanza, Will Ferri and Dan Gow have filled In Our Bones full of songs to which you can dance, sing, cry and party. From the bouncy, infectious opener “Running With The Wild Things” to the anthemic “Young & Restless” to the absolutely enormous “Runaway”, their debut is the sound of band with heads full of memorable songs.

It’s not just about the pop though as tracks like “Chasing Ghosts” and the stunning album closer “Demons” show how easy the trio can dish out more heartfelt moments with Constanza in particular taking her vocal performance to the next level. On the subject of album closer “Demons”, this is where the group step away from their pop blueprint, open up their wings and, in three and a half career-defining minutes, become a truly stunning band with a massive future ahead of them.

As In Our Bones shows, Against The Current have got the songs, they’ve got the cute singer and they’ve got bags of infectious energy that will have the kids dancing into the night. Basically, there is absolutely nothing you can’t love about this act and album. Catch them now because, once this album sinks its hooks in, there will be no stopping them!

Track Listing:

01. Running With The Wild Things
02. Forget Me Now
03. Chasing Ghosts
04. One More Week
05. In Our Bones
06. Young & Restless
07. Runaway
08. Brighter
09. Wasteland
10. Blood Like Gasoline
11. Roses
12. Demons

Run Time: 40:28
Release Date: May 20, 2016

Check out the track “Young & Restless”


Exit mobile version