Hypnotic Dirge Productions seems to continually release high-quality albums from a variety of different artists. Many of the albums they release are by bands a little more, shall we say eclectic, with artists who like to experiment and push the boundaries of their respective genres.

The song “Concrete Ocean” from the upcoming Netra album entitled Sørbyen has been made available for streaming and free download. This is the second track to be made available from the upcoming album, following the release of the track “Wish She Could Vanish” a few weeks ago. This track however, stands in contrast to “Wish She Could Vanish” in that it explores the more black metal side of Netra, having a similar sound to Burzum’s Filosofem album in some parts in terms of the guitar sound and vocals while still retaining the trip-hop influences present in many Netra tracks. The upcoming Sørbyen album will see a release on the Canadian label Hypnotic Dirge Records in the Summer of 2012.

Arctic Monkeys have come a long way since their debut album Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. Lead singer Alex Turner no longer chats into the microphone, as he recently put it, about “fucking taxi ranks” and actually sings now. Jamie Cook’s guitar playing and the stick work of Matt Helders is now less frantic and far superior in quality. Nick O’Malley’s bass has changed to a thicker tone than before, supporting a rougher and slightly psychedelic sound that the band now possess.