Fat Possum Records is pleased to release “We Can’t Be Beat,” the lead track from The Walkmen’s upcoming album Heaven, on May 29th. The record is the band’s sixth and was produced by Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, Shins, Band of Horses) in Seattle. The band just celebrated their 10th anniversary and are still comprised of the same members that started the group in 2001 – drummer Matt Barrick, multi-instrumentalist Pete Bauer, singer Hamilton Leithauser, guitarist Paul Maroon and bassist Walter Martin. The Fleet Foxes’ Robin Pecknold sings harmonies on two songs on the record.

As Negative Black, the monolithic third LP from Germany’s Black Shape Of Nexus oozes towards North American release, the band today proudly drops the third track from the album on the public today. Witness the sheer aural pulverization of this band through one of the “shorter songs on the album,” by streaming the near-eight-minute-long “60WV” just below.

Nova Scotia’s Wintersleep produces music that has the ability to grab listeners with its pop charm and keep them captivated with its subtle complexities. Having won a Juno Award, performed on The Late Show With David Letterman, and spent the last few years touring extensively in support of two successful releases, the band is now gearing up to unleash Hello Hum, a multi-dimensional record full of catchy pop hooks, thoughtful lyrics, and heartfelt sentiment. Co-produced and mixed by Dave Fridmann (MGMT, The Flaming Lips) and Tony Doogan (Belle & Sebastian, Mogwai), Hello Hum is due out June 12th via Roll Call Records/ILG.

Obduracy is Canadian heavy metal at its finest. This independent five-piece from Ottawa is the result of a relentless dedication to creating some devastating and blistering thrash-tinged death metal. The group’s real inspiration is a desire to mold an aggressive, unforgiving and genuinely evil sound that takes no prisoners. If you’re looking for soft ballads then you can be sure that Obduracy will deliver the exact opposite to that.

While 2010’s live-off-the-floor album How Come I’m Dead? partially reflected the Olympic chaos within which it was recorded, the third album from Vancouver via Edmonton’s Hot Panda, Go Outside, reveals a band investing its energy into a stable mode of creation. The overall sound of the album features a more mature and thoughtful tone, while lyrically tackling crippling social disorders like cynicism, depression, and close-mindedness. Go Outside manages to retain the energy, humor, and sub-genre diversity of earlier Hot Panda albums and their renowned live performances, while staying true to their “artful pop music, played with a punk rock spirit.” Hot Panda’s latest offering will be released on July 17th, 2012.

In support of their debut self-titled album out May 29th on No Idea Records, Oxnard/Ventura, CA-based punk and hardcore band Stop Breathing have premiered the second new song from their upcoming release, titled “What I Want.” In addition, the band has recently announced a series of upcoming West Coast dates taking place this spring and early summer, performing alongside such legendary artists as Suicidal Tendencies, The Dwarves, Strife, Municipal Waste, Dr. Know and more.

For the past week, Metric has been sharing clues with fans about “Youth Without Youth,” the band’s first single from the forthcoming album, Synthetica (MMI/Mom+Pop). We’ve seen mysterious video footage from the recording studio, heard Emily Haines and Jimmy Shaw speak on the making of the song, and even saw fan interpretations of “Youth Without Youth” after the song’s lyrics and sheet music were unveiled and before the song’s release (relive the experience at THIS LINK).

Building dramatically on the trademarked bludgeon of their first three releases, with Whitechapel the Tennessean sextet have inarguably delivered their most intense, dynamic, and downright hostile record to date. Drenched in atmospheric darkness, the record is also rife with gripping melodies that drag the listener in to the tumult, willing or otherwise, and across its ten tracks it is infused with an emotional depth that pointedly separates the band from the plethora of two-dimensional mosh-starters that have sprung up in their wake.

The Offspring returned to the airwaves today (Friday, April 27) with the premiere of the brand new single “Days Go By” on Los Angeles’ KROQ Kevin and Bean show. The song is now available to stream via an Instagram-powered interactive photo calendar at Offspring.com. A digital single will be available at all digital retailers at midnight tonight and a Rock Prodigy in-app download is set for release at the same time. “Days Go By” is also the name of the band’s new studio album, produced by Bob Rock and available June 26 (Columbia Records).