James LaBrie


In 2010, progressive rock veterans Dream Theater underwent a personnel change, as longtime drummer and founding member Mike Portnoy was replaced by new drummer Mike Mangini. Portnoy has been quoted as saying he felt Dream Theater needed to take a break, while the rest of the band (singer James La Brie, guitarist John Petrucci, bassist John Myung, and keyboardist Jordan Rudess) wanted to start a new album. The revised lineup of Dream Theater released A Dramatic Turn of Events in 2011, and as Portnoy moved on to other projects, Dream Theater moved forward, touring in support of an album that is easily one of their best. And for a number of Dream Theater fans, the supposition that the band might not be as good without its original drummer was put to rest. Mangini has since proven his mettle in the studio and on tour, solidifying his position as a part of the DT team.

Dream Theater’s Jame LaBrie is back with a powerful new studio album effort entitled Impermanent Resonance, to be released on July 29th, 2013 in Europe and August 6th, 2013 in North America via InsideOutMusic. The new album’s dynamic opening track, “Agony”, is now available to be checked out via the YouTube player below!