Connect with us

Album News

Atreyu Celebrates 20th Anniversary of ‘The Curse’ with Vinyl Versions

Atreyu is poised to celebrate their best-selling sophomore album, ‘The Curse’, with its first vinyl reissue in a decade.



Atreyu, photo by Micala Austin
Atreyu, photo by Micala Austin

Craft Recordings celebrates the 20th anniversary of Atreyu’s best-selling sophomore album, The Curse, with its first vinyl reissue in a decade. Originally released in 2004, The Curse marked the metalcore band’s commercial breakthrough—not only breaking the US Top 40 but topping Billboard’s Independent Albums chart, thanks to memorable singles like “Bleeding Mascara,” “Right Side of the Bed” and “The Crimson.”

To mark the album’s anniversary, this special reissue of The Curse features a rare bonus track (a cover of Bon Jovi’s “You Give Love a Bad Name”) and a fresh jacket design. In addition to black vinyl, the album will also be available in a variety of limited-edition pressings, including Bleeding Mascara and Crimson Swirl wax—both of which can be found exclusively HERE—plus Pyre Smoke\ and Metallic Gold Marble (Revolver). All variants of The Curse arrive September 6 and can be pre-ordered here.

In 2002, the five-piece released their genre-defining debut, Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses. While the acclaimed album set the stage for their enduring career, the band’s 2004 follow-up, The Curse, placed them on the path to mainstream success. Recorded after a year of non-stop touring, the album found the band reflecting on their newfound fame while grappling with the ups and downs of life on the road.

Upon its release in the summer of 2004, The Curse topped the US Independent charts and became Atreyu’s first album to break the Billboard 200, where it peaked at No.32. The LP, which went on to earn a Gold certification from the RIAA, also earned high marks from critics.

Also driving the album’s success were singles “The Crimson” and “Right Side of the Bed”—both of which found significant rotation on the likes of MTV2 and Fuse—while the latter track was also featured in the popular video game Burnout 3: Takedown. The following year, the band appeared on the soundtrack to the blockbuster film Mr. & Mrs. Smith, covering Bon Jovi’sYou Give Love a Bad Game.” The song, which appears on the 20th Anniversary Edition of The Curse, was previously only available physically in the US on a limited-edition exclusive of the album.

This summer, Atreyu has performed across Europe, the UK and the US, including appearances at the Download Festival (England) and Rock im Park and Rock am Ring (Germany). Looking ahead, the band will be playing Las Vegas’ When We Were Young Festival, where they will be performing The Curse in full. Scroll down to see a list of dates, or visit the band’s official site for tickets and more info.

Atreyu ‘The Curse’ vinyl pack shots

Atreyu ‘The Curse’ vinyl pack shots

The Curse Track Listing (20th Anniversary Vinyl):

Side A:
1. Blood Children (An Introduction)
2. Bleeding Mascara
3. Right Side Of The Bed
4. This Flesh A Tomb
5. You Eclipsed By Me
6. The Crimson
7. The Remembrance Ballad

Side B:
1. An Interlude
2. Corseting
3. Demonology And Heartache
4. My Sanity On The Funeral Pyre
5. Nevada’s Grace
6. Five Vicodin Chased With A Shot Of Clarity
7. You Give Love A Bad Name (*bonus track)

Atreyu ‘The Curse’ album artwork

Atreyu ‘The Curse’ album artwork

Lover of all things music, Vanessa De La Rosa has been involved in the music scene most of her life in different capacities. All genres welcome, she is a past master in the art of "nerding-out" with music, and is excited to explore that passion by sharing the stories of artists everywhere. Fan of: Festivals, gear, music production, all genres, supporting artists, concerts, and merch!