Connect with us

Album News

Sonny Gullage Announces Debut Album ‘Go Be Free’

Blues singer-songwriter and keyboardist Kevin “Sonny” Gullage is set to unleash his debut full-length album, ‘Go Be Free,’ on August 23rd.



Kevin “Sonny” Gullage
Kevin “Sonny” Gullage

Blues singer-songwriter and keyboardist Kevin “Sonny” Gullage is set to unleash his debut full-length album, Go Be Free, on August 23rd via the legendary Blind Pig Records. This 12-song collection, produced by the renowned four-time GRAMMY winner and nine-time nominee Tom Hambridge (Buddy Guy, B.B. King, Susan Tedeschi, Delbert McClinton), features a guest appearance by Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, showcasing the next generation of standout blues artists.

To celebrate today’s announcement, Sonny has shared the album’s electrifying lead single and title track, “Go Be Free.” The track opens with a powerful beat reminiscent of a Southern church’s vibrancy, driven by a dynamic groove. Sonny’s vocals resonate with wisdom and warmth as he sings, “I remember back when I was young / Daddy called me said, ‘Come here my son’ / He said, ‘If you want to be like me / You gotta learn to keep your mind at ease’ / Said, ‘Go be free.’” This anthem of gospel salvation and blues-based self-realization sets an inspiring tone for the entire album.

The music video for “Go Be Free” follows a young boy’s journey through life’s pivotal moments, showcasing how his understanding of freedom and self-discovery evolves throughout his coming of age. “Go Be Free tells the story of my upbringing in the South, growing and finding my way,” Sonny shares. “Traveling the road of life eventually led me to finding the blues. Many of the greats share their stories of how they found it, whether it was at the crossroads or through someone who did them wrong. For me, I found the blues while I was becoming the man I am today.”

Go Be Free promises to be an inspiring addition to the contemporary blues scene, showcasing Sonny Gullage’s unique talent and deep musical roots. Reflecting on his journey, Sonny says,

“I feel like a tree with many roots that include my father, and all the musicians who have inspired me. Now, I’m growing branches, and, hopefully, sharing the blues with the next generation.”

Go Be Free Track Listing: 

1. Just Kiss Me, Baby
2. Go Be Free
3. Things I Can’t Control
4. Separate Ways
5. Worried About the Young (feat. Christone “Kingfish” Ingram)
6. Blues All Over You
7. I’ve Been There
8. Stop That Stuff
9. Tattooed Wings
10. Hot House
11. File It Under Blues
12. Home to You

Kevin “Sonny” Gullage ‘Go Be Free’ album artwork

Kevin “Sonny” Gullage ‘Go Be Free’ album artwork

Lover of all things music, Vanessa De La Rosa has been involved in the music scene most of her life in different capacities. All genres welcome, she is a past master in the art of "nerding-out" with music, and is excited to explore that passion by sharing the stories of artists everywhere. Fan of: Festivals, gear, music production, all genres, supporting artists, concerts, and merch!