Connect with us


Calva Louise Reveal Their Newest Track, “La Corriente”

Following their performance at Download Festival and their US tour with Vukovi, Calva Louise have revealed their new single “La Corriente.”



Calva Louise, photo by Henry Calvert
Calva Louise, photo by Henry Calvert

Following on from their electrifying performance at Download Festival and their US tour with VukoviCalva Louise has revealed their brand-new single, “La Corriente,” out now on Mascot Records. Talking about this weekend’s Download performance, Calva Louise said:

“Playing Download was one of the greatest experiences of our lives! We are so happy to have had that chance, the tent was filled with such an amazing crowd and the best vibes!”

The band will also be taking on a headline tour of the UK, starting on 4 July at the Bodega, Nottingham and calling through Leeds (The Key Club), Glasgow (King Tuts), Manchester (Deaf Institute), Birmingham (Asylum 2) and finishing at Omeara, London on 11 July. They will also be playing 2000Trees (UK), Dynamo Metal Festival (The Netherlands), Burn It Down Festival (UK) and Vainstream Rock Festival (Germany). Further details on the upcoming tour and tickets can be found here.

Vocalist Jess Allanic explains:

““La Corriente” is about escaping prefabricated opinions and judgments, affecting our perception of self. By trying to be agreeable and trying to fit in, I let someone’s current drag me away from my own self in the past, undermining my opinions and eventually feeling trapped in expressing myself. This song for me is regaining that power back.”

Earlier this month, they finished a 5-week tour of the US with Vukovi and played Sonic Temple and Welcome To Rockville festivals in the US.

Talking about the tour, the band says:

“Touring with Vukovi was one of the best experiences we’ve had! They are a wonderful band and amazing people! We also got to see so many great places and meet wonderful new people who travelled all over the US to come to the shows! We had a great time and hope we get to do it again soon!”

“Under the Skin” was co-written by Allanic and Pendulum’s Gareth McGrillen and is a mesmerizing blend of raging metal riffs, swirling electronica, and Allanic’s extraordinary ability to flit between ethereal vocals and demonic howls. It swoons in and out of a stunning narrative, with melodic twists along the way that are penetrated by an attack of hypnotic aggression. The song and video follows a complex Sci-Fi narrative and is the introduction of a conceptual storyline about the characters and their counterparts, The video is an incredible feast for the eye and was directed and edited with VFX by Allanic.

The British-based band is truly International, with its members hailing from across the globe and has been ripping through the U.K. underground for the past few years, driven by the creative vision of Venezuelan-born Jess Allanic (Vocals/Guitar/Keyboard) along with French-born Alizon Taho (Bass/Backing Vocals) and New Zealander Ben Parker (Drums/Backing Vocals).

Calva Louise is a captivating live band that has seen their recent live performances take them to another level. 2024 will prove to be the year of Calva Louise.

Tour Dates:

29 Jun – Münster, Germany – Vainstream Rockfest (FESTIVAL)
04 Jul – Bodega, Nottingham
05 Jul – The Key Club, Leeds
07 Jul – King Tut’s, Glasgow
08 Jul – Deaf Institute, Manchester
10 Jul – Asylum 2, Birmingham
11 Jul – Omeara, London
13 Jul – Cheltenham, UK – 2000 Trees [Silent Disco Set] (FESTIVAL)
18 Aug – Eindhoven, Netherlands – Dynamo MetalFest (FESTIVAL)
30 Aug – Torquay, UK – Burn It Down (FESTIVAL)

Calva Louise “La Corriente” single artwork

Calva Louise “La Corriente” single artwork