Connect with us

Album News

Sally Gates, Trevor Dunn, and Greg Fox Announce ‘Deliriant Modifier’

‘Deliriant Modifier,’ the newest collaborative release of Sally Gates, Trevor Dunn, and Greg Fox is coming out on October 20th.



Sally Gates, Trevor Dunn, Greg Fox, photo by Gulnara Hamatova

Deliriant Modifier, the newest collaborative release of Sally Gates (Titan to Tachyons), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle) and Greg Fox, is coming out via Riverworm Records this October 20. “Reflecting the insular circumstances of the last few years, I had been reading a lot about the inner worlds of consciousness, the subjective nature of reality, and quantum physics,” explains Sally Gates about the conceptual side of the collaboration.

Coming across the lecture of a critically recognized neuroscientist, Anil Seth, Sally discovered a thesis saying: “Perception = controlled hallucinations. Hallucinations = uncontrolled perception.” Gates explains that by relying on the information around us, perception is generated and controlled through a number of factors. “Essentially, we only perceive the information necessary to function and survive. If our perception were entirely uncontrolled, it would seem as if we were constantly hallucinating, which wouldn’t give us much of a survival rate.”

Sally Gates adds:

“Improvising is the result of a natural outpouring of everything you absorb.  Whatever you’ve been listening to, practicing, or even reading, watching.”

Sally Gates, Trevor Dunn, Greg Fox ‘Deliriant Modifier’ album artwork

Sally Gates, Trevor Dunn, Greg Fox ‘Deliriant Modifier’ album artwork

To reflect this concept musically, this record explores the effect of controls on creativity, asking the question. “Do limitations aid or hinder the functionality in composition?”Exploring the scientific concept of the music field, the trio decided to go with the most boundless form of composition – improvisation. Delving deep into the recesses of consciousness, ‘Deliriant Modifier’ takes the listener on a transcendent journey, skillfully navigating between control and spontaneity, our perception of reality and the intricate web of information that shapes it. Look out for the complete project, and pre-order the release from the trio here!

Deliriant Modifier Track Listing:

1.  Macro/Micro
2.  Dissolve And Surveil
3.  Shifting Squares
4.  Flatworms
5.  Nobody, And Nothing
6.  Limits Of A Circle
7.  Retinal States
8.  Angular Isolation
9.  Collider
10. Excise Spurious Time


Lover of all things music, Vanessa De La Rosa has been involved in the music scene most of her life in different capacities. All genres welcome, she is a past master in the art of "nerding-out" with music, and is excited to explore that passion by sharing the stories of artists everywhere. Fan of: Festivals, gear, music production, all genres, supporting artists, concerts, and merch!