Prepare to witness a seismic event in hardcore punk history as trailblazers MAAFA continues their warpath by releasing their second single, “Welfare,” today, which premiered Thursday on Kill The Music. This scorching track arrives hot off the heels of May 19th’s “Deficit” single drop, setting the stage for their highly anticipated debut full-length album Because We Are, due for release on the momentous occasion of Juneteenth.

MAAFA, the Afro-Progressive Hardcore punk ensemble, has risen from the ashes of the past half-decade since their 2017 self-titled demo, ready to ignite a revolution with their long-awaited full-length debut album Because We Are. Brace yourselves for an electrifying vortex of raw energy and unyielding spirit that will redefine the hardcore punk scene and transcend the boundaries of heavy music as a whole.

Embarking on a journey that transcends musical boundaries, MAAFA has captivated audiences around the globe, leaving a trail of awe and inspiration in their wake. At the helm of this sonic revolution is Afro-Brazilian bassist Flora Lucini, the band’s founder, composer, and vocalist. Her indomitable presence in bands has spread throughout the hardcore punk scenes of Washington, DC, New York, and beyond for the past two decades.

Because We Are stands as a testament to MAAFA’s unyielding determination and their unwavering commitment to their craft. This highly anticipated album serves as a manifesto of their resilience, taking listeners on an introspective pilgrimage through the depths of the human experience. From the gut-wrenching cries of discontent to the empowering anthems of solidarity, each track unravels a different layer of the band’s artistic prowess.

To set the stage for their forthcoming masterpiece, MAAFA unleashes the electrifying single “Deficit” from Because We Are. A sonic onslaught that reverberates through the veins, “Deficit” serves as a mere taste of the immersive journey that awaits within the album’s depths. With razor-sharp guitars, thunderous drums, and Lucini’s commanding vocals, the single is a blood pact of things to come.

Because We Are Track Listing:

1. Origém (Intro)
2. Welfare
3. Deficit
4. Libation
5. A Luta Continua (Interlude)
6. Filha Da Luta
7. Not Your Exotic
8. For The Culture (ft. Christylez Bacon)
9. Dichotomy
10. Blindspot

MAAFA “Welfare” single artwork
MAAFA “Welfare” single artwork
MAAFA “Deficit” single artwork
MAAFA “Deficit” single artwork

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.