Today, the folk and Americana singer/songwriter Shawn Mullins has released a pro-shot video of his GRAMMY-nominated hit “Lullaby,” the latest single from his new live release, Live At The Print Shop. Originally featured on his album Soul’s Core, the song hit #1 on the Adult Top 40 Chart and featured actress Dominique Swain in its well-received music video. In an exclusive interview with Live At The Print Shop, Mullins revealed the surprising connection between the hit song and the American-Canadian singer/songwriter Ani DiFranco.

Mullins shared:

“I saw Ani DiFranco the first time in 1997. We drove down to Denver and we saw her and it blew my mind, so I started trying to do stuff…almost like a flamenco player. So I started experimenting with what I knew how to do with percussion on the guitar, as well as pull off some hammer-ons and things that I could make myself not get bored, basically.”

For its 20th anniversary, Shawn is revisiting the music of Soul’s Core by recording two new versions of the album, dubbed ‘Soul’s Core Revival.’ This is not a remix or a remaster of the original, but rather brand-new recordings with new arrangements of the songs. One album will be new stripped-down solo performances – some on guitar, some on piano, and one a cappella – and the second will be a new studio recording with his full band, Soul Carnival.

Live At The Print Shop Track Listing:

1. The Great Unknown
2. Twin Rocks, Oregon
3. Ferguson
4. Sunshine
5. Light You Up
6. Beautiful Wreck
7. Ghost Of Johnny Cash
8. House Of The Rising Sun
9. Lullaby

Shawn Mullins ‘Live at the Print Shop’ album artwork
Shawn Mullins ‘Live at the Print Shop’ album artwork

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.