Belgian band KermesZ à l’Est has just unveiled their brand new album, Octophilia, which lives somewhere at the intersection of jazz, metal and Eastern European traditions. Following up on their previous LP (RDS-202, 2020) and Junkz (a collaborative project composed with La Jungle and released in February 2023), the band recently returned to the studio to record Octophilia, a new album of long-format pieces that expands its influences to the Caucasus and Baroque music while also absorbing elements of math rock and poetry.

It also features some festive and surprising numbers that combine punk energy and Balkan intoxication, obscure beats and electro trance. Once more, Kermesz delivers an extraordinary, supercharged mashup that explodes styles and norms for a festive and devilishly dynamic musical experience. Octophilia also includes the group’s only four-legged member, who serves as a vocalist and traditionally travels with the band on tour.

On stage, the group blows away a sweat-drenched, dumbfounded audience by integrating their experience of street art and freakshow-inspired visuals, allowing them to witness the rebirth of an ecstatic universe from the ashes of the post-industrial apocalypse.

Octophilia Track Listing:

1. Azerian Dub – Part I
2. Azerian Dub – Part II
3. Kakoschizm
4. Trilock – Part I – Down
5. Trilock – Part II – Strong
6. Trilock – Part III – Lombrik
7. Trilock – Part IIII – Prophecy
8. Lullysion
9. Pony Wurst

KermesZ à l'Est ‘Octophilia’ album artwork
KermesZ à l’Est ‘Octophilia’ album artwork

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.