Connect with us

Album News

Robert De Leo Shares Covers of Two Gordon Lightfoot Classics

Robert De Leo has released two digital bonus tracks from his critically acclaimed solo album, ‘Lessons Learned,’ covers of two Gordon Lightfoot songs.



Robert De Leo, bassist and principal songwriter of the iconic band, Stone Temple Pilots, has released two digital bonus tracks from his critically acclaimed solo album, Lessons Learned. De Leo recorded covers of two Gordon Lightfoot songs, “Affair on 8th Avenue” and “Your Love’s Return,” with Pete Shoulder on vocals—stream/buy the songs here.

“Gordon Lightfoot is one of the sculptors of a musical era that I cherish and hold so dear to my heart,” says Robert. “I covered these two songs out of respect and relating to Gordon’s willingness to convey his vulnerability in his songs. I decided to leave Gordon’s songs off Lesson’s Learned so my musical journey and personal experiences would be my own.”

Robert played virtually all the instruments on the album, complemented by guest musicians and vocalists, all of which lend to the undeniable intimacy of the music.

Robert comments:

“Pete Shoulder is one of my favorite singers. His voice captures the same elements that great singers of the past have emotionally stirred up in all of us.”

Like so much of De Leo’s body of work, Lessons Learned is the kind of record that feels so alive in the present and instantly soundtracks the moment for the listener.

Lessons Learned Track Listing:

1. Big Sky Woman
2. She Brings The Rain
3. Love Is Not Made Of Gold
4. Anew
5. Put Aside Your Sorrows
6. Lessons Learned
7. What Will Be
8. Everything
9. What’ll I Do
10. Is This Goodbye
Bonus Tracks:
1. Affair on 8th Avenue
2. Your Love’s Return

Artwork for ‘Lessons Learned’ by Robert De Leo

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.