Connect with us

Album News

Lynn Miles Confirms New Album ‘TumbleWeedyWorld’; Shares “Highway 105” Single

Ottawa-based musician Lynn Miles confirms her 16th album, ‘TumbleWeedyWorld,’ due via True North Records, and releases the lead single, “Highway 105.”



Lynn Miles has earned her reputation as one of Canada’s most formidable songwriters, having written more than 900 songs and released 15 albums over her remarkable career. She’s racked up multiple Juno Awards, Canadian Folk Music Awards, had two albums voted #1 by readers of Penguin Eggs magazine, and had her songs covered by a multitude of artists, including Claire Lynch on her Grammy-nominated album North by South.

The Ottawa-based singer is a producer, professor and public speaker, a paragon of excellence in everything she does. You could say she is reliable. The songs on her 16th album, TumbleWeedyWorld, due via True North Records on March 17, 2023, however, are about unreliability. About shaky situations. About a time when cracks begin to appear in everything.

She comments:

“These are songs that arrive at a moment when global instability illuminated the fragility of personal relationships. They’re about impermanence (“I’m a lonesome drifting girl / In my tumbleweedyworld”). About incompatibility (“I wish you were a night owl, too”). About the left (“Johnny Without June”) and about the leaving (“Hide Your Heart”). About spiteful endings (“All Bitter Never Sweet”). About how those endings are never crystal clear, about the complications of regret (“All these years I’ve been carrying around this heart / There’s always been a tiny missing part / I couldn’t name it or maybe I wouldn’t dare / Cause I know I’d have to walk through fire to go back there”). They’re songs about navigating life’s hurdles, about dodgingtumbleweeds, about leaving stuck situations. On the surface, they’re hurtin’ songs about twopeople who can’t make things work.”

TumbleWeedyWorld Track Listing:

1. Night Owl 4:20
2. Highway 105 3:46
3. Cold Cold Moon 5:12
4. Johnny Without June 4:09
5. Hide Your Heart 2:24
6. Sorry’s Just Not Good Enough 3:15
7. Palomino 3:34
8. All Bitter Never Sweet 2:17
9. Moody 3:47
10. Gold In The Middle 3:57

Artwork for the album ‘TumbleWeedyWorld’ by Lynn Miles

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.