Connect with us

Album News

City and Colour Details New Album ‘The Love Still Held Me Near’



City and Colour, photo by Vanessa Heins

City and Colour – acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer Dallas Green – has announced the highly-anticipated new album The Love Still Held Me Near will be released on March 31st via Still Records, an imprint of Dine Alone Records. The Love Still Held Me Near is a deeply personal and cathartic offering, and the most sonically expansive in the celebrated City and Colour canon.

Soulful new track “Underground” offers a strong message that life is a gift; embrace every moment while you can. Alongside the single, a new video for “Underground” directed by Michael Maxxis premiered today and is the second instalment of a moody, and formidable cinematic series of videos directed by Maxxis set to accompany every song on the new LP. Says Maxxis, “​​Dallas’ walls are down on this album, and I wanted to capture that on film.”

Explains Green:

The Love Still Held Me Near was born out of unimaginable loss and the subsequent journey through the grief and heartache that followed. It’s about digging deep down into yourself and attempting to unearth hope and light in the things that can comfort you through those times. For me, that has always been writing and recording music, so that’s exactly what I did.”

Produced by Green and longtime band member and collaborator Matt Kelly, the 12 songs that comprise The Love Still Held Me Near follow the most difficult period in Green’s life, including the tragic loss of his best friend in 2019. Green poignantly eulogizes him in the stunning opening track “Meant To Be,” which was released in November.

The Love That Held Me Near Track Listing:

1. Meant to Be
2. Underground
3. Fucked it Up
4. The Love Still Held Me Near
5. A Little Mercy
6. Things We Choose to Care About
7. After Disaster
8. Without Warning
9. Hard, Hard Time
10. The Water is Coming
11. Bow Down to Love
12. Begin Again

Artwork for thea album ‘The Love Still Held Me Near’ by City and Colour

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.