Connect with us

Album Review

Revocation – ‘Netherheaven’ [Album Review]

Boston shredders Revocation deliver a frantic slice of progressive death/thrash metal on their new album ‘Netherheaven.’ Read our thoughts here…



In a touching move, progressive death metal outfit Revocation has dedicated their new album, Netherheaven, to their fallen friend Trevor Strnad of The Black Dahlia Murder. It’s a fitting tribute then that their eighth album is also the strongest of their impressive catalogue.

Listening to tracks like “Diabolical Majesty” and “Nihilistic Violence” takes you right back to the death/thrash scene of the 2000s as the Boston crew smashes through a tornado of shredding thrash and pummelling death metal. “Strange and Eternal” continues the frantic delivery, but hearing the track weave into a calmer outro certainly highlights the depth of Revocation’s sound. At eight albums in, it would be fair to expect these musicians to have nailed their sound down by now, but, given time to really fine-tune every intricate twist and turn on this record, Netherheaven finds the band has not only nailed their sound, but they’ve also pushed the standard of musicianship to even higher levels.

This masterclass of progressive death/thrash continues through the majestic “Galleries of Morbid Artistry,” where the sound weaves between ferocious death/thrash and almost jazz-like interludes. Continuing to keep the listener on their toes, “The 9th Chasm” offers a surprising instrumental, and without frontman Dave Davidson’s throat-ripping vocals, you really start to appreciate the quality of a band who are masters of their craft.

“Re-crucified” brings this breathtaking record to an end, a finale which sees the group joined by the aforementioned metal warrior Trevor Strnad and Cannibal Corpse frontman George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher for both a frantic and fitting end to this stunning effort. Speaking about the album ahead of its release, frontman Davidson states that they want to inspire people with this record. It’s a lofty claim but one that the band backs up by delivering an absolutely flawless collection.


Netherheaven Track Listing:

1. Diabolical Majesty
2. Lessons in Occult Theft
3. Nihilistic Violence
4. Strange and Eternal
5. Galleries of Morbid Artistry
6. The 9th Chasm
7. Godforsaken
8. The Intervening Abyss of Untold Aeons
9. Re-Crucified

Run Time: 44:50
Release Date: September 9, 2022
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.