Connect with us


Premiere: Megan Slankard Gets Sweet Revenge in Her “California” Music Video

“Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.” Singer-songwriter Megan Slankard pulls no punches in her exciting new “California” music video.



One of the most well-known and notorious Western proverbs is the one that goes, “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned,” and there’s good reason that has been so widely in use for about 300 years now. Singer-songwriter Megan Slankard will back us up on that, with her latest single, “California,” for which she’s debuting the music video for today. With clothes flying through the air and belongings being disposed of at once, Slankard is pulling no punches in her reaction to the actions and behaviour of her ex-partner. When a dreadful relationship comes to an end, it’s time to put a capper on things, and everyone’s got their own style. Slankard’s just happens to be a little more candid.

“California” is the first single, and sort of title track, to Slankard’s new record California & Other Stories. The album will be formally released on October 28th and emphasizes a new side of her as an artist. There’s that trademark sneering rock n’ roll for sure, but the soundscapes are more cinematic and vivid. The album was co-produced in cooperation with producer Alex Wong, who has worked with Venna Teng and Delta Rae.

Describing her new video, Slankard tells us:

“In this visual version of ‘California,’ I set out on an ambitious bicycle adventure over the steep hills of San Francisco, making my way through the city to deliver the unwanted possessions of an ex-boyfriend to the thrift store. The story is a gentle reminder of why it might not be the best idea to date a songwriter. The video was directed and shot by Dan Foldes (Pint of Soul).”

Slankard knows a thing or two about the hard work of being an independent musician, and she has made the very most of it, self-releasing five albums and selling tens of thousands of copies, all by her own efforts.  Many of those records were sold directly to fans at shows, as she and her band, The Wreckage, would routinely play between 100 and 150 shows per year before the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Her musical career has involved a lot of fascinating, momentous events, including singing duets with Pat Monahan of Train, playing electric guitar on the Jimmy Kimmel Live show, singing the National Anthem seven different times at San Francisco Giants games, and touring through Europe with Dire Straits co-founder David Knopfler. None of this has been easy; it’s all been well-earned and deserved, and it speaks to the person and musician that Slankard is.

California & Other Stories Track Listing:

1. California
2. I Want To Be Loved
3. Magical Thinking
4. Something More
5. They Gonna Talk
6. Carl Sagan
7. What Gold Is
8. I Can Love
9. Send Hope
10. Oil In The Ocean

Artwork for the single “California” by Megan Slankard

Artwork for the album ‘California & Other Stories’ by Megan Slankard