Over the last five days, there has been a stunning array of pop and rock acts wowing sold-out crowds in the beautiful surroundings of The Piece Hall in Halifax. The weekend saw Tom Grennan, pop queen Paloma Faith and the Modfather himself, Paul Weller, playing stunning sets, but what better way to wrap up this varied buffet of live music than with the Kings of British Pop, Duran Duran?

“We had bought tickets for this gig,” laughs Nicole Hope Smith, vocalist with Yorkshire pop duo Eevah, recalling how they turned down a gig on the same night only to discover the gig in question was going to be supporting Duran Duran at the same gig they had tickets for. Judging by the reaction from the crowd, it all worked out well in the end with the electro-pop of tracks like “Take Me To Bed” going down a storm with this hardcore Duran Duran crowd before their cover of revitalized Kate Bush hit “Running Up That Hill” getting even those who were only here for the headliners up and dancing.

It would appear that the five thousand or so hardcore fans have been waiting a long time for Duran Duran to finally come to Halifax judging by the banner draped over the barrier. When that moment finally arrived with the band storming into opener and huge ’80s pop hit “Wild Boys,” it felt like nothing was going to stop these fans from enjoying a night of ’80s pop perfection with their heroes.

Powering through a hit-laden set this is a band that has a set that has just got better with time. Hammering through a plethora of hits like “A View to a Kill,” “Notorious” and “Hungry Like The Wolf,” there wasn’t a single fan not singing along. Judging by the beaming smiles on their faces, the band was enjoying this long-awaited trip to Yorkshire as much as the fans with frontman Simon Le Bon in particular lapping up the adulation from these fans.

Of course, this wasn’t just a trip down memory lane, with the band still promoting their fifteenth studio album Future Past as they included a selection from the album including “Invisible,” “Give It All Up” and “All of You.”

However, as much loved as the new material is, it was the smash hits which got the biggest reaction from the crowd. Unsurprisingly, the band was happy to delve into the mammoth collection for crowd-pleasing renditions of “The Reflex,” “Girls on Film” and set-closer “Rio,” the track which brought this night to a dazzling pop finale.

Duran Duran Set List:

1. Wild Boys
2. Invisible
3. All of You
4. A View to a Kill
5. Notorious
6. Union of the Snake
7. Come Undone
8. Give It All Up
9. Hungry Like the Wolf
10. Friends of Mine
11. Ordinary World
12. Anniversary
13. Planet Earth
14. Hold Back the Rain
15. The Reflex
16. White Lines (Don’t Do It)
17. Careless Memories
18. Girls on Film / Acceptable in the ’80s
19. Save a Prayer
20. Rio


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.