DeadFinger, the new band featuring Daniel Kubinski and Dwain Flowers, announce their self-titled debut will drop on July 23rd via Spectrogram Records. The ten-track recoding will be led by the single “Ghosts” which Flowers describes as being a “back waters, Louisiana swamp stomper.”

Commenting exclusively on the news, Kubinski offers:

“This is something that I’ve always wanted to do. Both an acoustic (meaning minimal instruments and non-electric) LP and a covers LP. Although there is one fantastic original tune on the DeadFinger record, I do have a love for cover songs and artists doing their versions of their favorite artist’s songs. It can give an insight to the artist when you hear what music has influenced them.

“Dwain and I were jamming other music, heavy, drop C, punk/goth/metal, we are calling it; ‘The F/K Project’ (Flowers/Kubinski) when I received a phone call asking if I could put together a pop-up band and play outdoors for a small gathering (two other people) during the initial lockdowns from Covid. We agreed to do it and I showed Dwain some of these songs that we would later record. We played the party, had fun (stayed healthy) and we posted a short video of us playing at the party and the video collected a shit ton of likes on Facebook.

“That’s when I thought to myself that ‘I need to record these songs.’ During rehearsals for the recording, we very naturally fell into writing songs, of which only one song, ‘Ghosts,’ was ready for the debut DeadFinger LP. I’m glad I’m getting this first DeadFinger LP out of the way in terms of; it was fun to create, learn and play the songs, but now I am writing my own songs and pouring out my own lyrics again, I’m full ‘on’ into the second DeadFinger LP and a 99% original song effort with maybe one cover.

“I’m so excited by the prospect of writing and recording these new songs that it’s almost propelling me forward with more new ideas all the time. I’ll have DeadFinger music coming out for a long time. I can see Dwain and me in our 70s cranking out some sort of stompin’, hip-shakin’ monstrosities until the very end!”

DeadFinger Track Listing:

1. Ghosts
2. I’m Affected
3. Skulls
4. Pretty Vacant
5. Running
6. Moonage Daydream
7. Dancing Barefoot
8. I’m Weary
9. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
10. Don’t Want To Know If You’re Lonely

Artwork for the album ‘DeadFinger’ by DeadFinger

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.