Soufly is gearing up for the release of their ten-track twelfth studio recording, Totem, and today have unveiled the album’s second single, “Scouring The Vile,” featuring John Tardy of Obituary. The album is set for release on August 5th via Nuclear Blast Records, and the lead single, which can be heard below, is titled “Superstition.”

Commenting on the song, band leader Max Cavalera shares:

“‘Scouring the Vile’ is SOULFLY’s personal fuck you letter to cancer! The lyrics are angered by the loss of loved ones. It was amazing to share the vocals with an old veteran, John Tardy of OBITUARY.“

Adding more context around the album itself, Cavalera adds:

“‘Totem’ is a celebration of the spiritual nature. It was a 2-year journey writing with Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun and the anger in Metal.”

Totem Track Listing:

1. Superstition
2. Scouring The Vile
3. Filth Upon Filth
4. Rot In Pain
5. The Damage Done
6. Totem
7. Ancestors
8. Ecstasy Of Gold
9. Soulfly XII
10. Spirit Animal

Artwork for the album ‘Totem’ by Soulfly

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.