Connect with us


Molder’s Disgusting New Single will Leave You ’Engrossed in Decay’

Chicago death metal band Molder have released their suitably disgusting new single ’Engrossed in Decay’. Check out the video here.



Chicago upstarts Molder have crawled out of the boneyard with news of their sophomore album Engrossed in Decay. The album is due for release via Prosthetic Records on July 15th and, to celebrate the news, the band have unleashed the video for the title track.

Speaking on the album announcement and track premiere Aaren Pantke (vocals/guitar) commented:

We’re absolutely stoked to finally release our first offering via Prosthetic Records. That said, we felt Engrossed In Decay was just as appropriate of a song, if any, to showcase first.

Continuing on the theme of the record, Pantke explained “We chose Engrossed In Decay as the title track of the new record as it totally encompasses our sound, past and present. It has all the elements of Molder; doom, death, thrash, and punk. Clocking in at just above 4 minutes, this ripper is chock full of death-obsessed lyrical content, bass breaks, pounding drums, and nasty riffs… what more could ya ask for?”

Conceptually, Engrossed in Decay collects the sonic aesthetics of the in-song samples, death-obsessed lyrics, and colorful mucus and blood themes into a cohesively gross package. This is the type of gift found in medical waste repositories or in the aftermath of a kitchen knife rampage. One look at the cover illustrated by Lucas Korte (Blood Incantation, Tomb Mold), and Molder’s sordid intentions are immediately evident. This is blood-curdling, gore-hurling death metal from graves licentiously disturbed.


The next phase of Molder’s depraved death metal domination will commence after Engrossed in Decay is unleashed upon metaldom. Until then, they’ll fester wildly in and around Chicago, with the rest of North America suffering perversely with a full-scale bloodbath later in 2022.

Engrossed in Decay will see release through Prosthetic Records on July 15th and you can pre-order your copy here.

Engrossed in Decay Track Listing:

1. Glutinous Remains
2. Engrossed in Decay
3. Relentless Pestilence
4. Chemically Dissolved
5. Disinhumed Carcass Revived
6. Huff the Stench
7. Unsubstantial Hallucinations
8. Ghastly Mutations
9. Decomposed Embryos
10. Cask of Maggots

Artwork for ‘Engrossed in Decay’ by Molder

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.