Connect with us

Album News

Grey Daze Announce New Album ‘The Phoenix’; New Track Released Featuring Late Chester Bennington

Grey Daze the band formed by Chester Bennington have announced their return with a new album ‘The Phoenix’. Read more about it here.



Grey Daze, the Phoenix-based band who introduced the world to one of rock music’s most identifiable and beloved voices, Chester Bennington, have announced their return with The Phoenix, out June 17th, via Loma Vista Recordings / Concord. The album is the follow up to 2020’s Amends, and fulfils the surviving band members’ pledge to Bennington.

Drummer and songwriter Sean Dowell had this to say about both The Phoenix and it’s predecessor Amends.

Amends was more emotional and reflective. We felt sad when we were writing it. Now that we’re a couple of years removed, it’s very clear what we were going through. We were at a different stage of grief. We went through the shock and the sadness. Now, we’re back to gratitude. So, The Phoenix is more of a celebration of our friend, his talent, and the music. It captures Chester’s angst and energy that people fell in love with. It’s much more aggressive. If you love Chester’s scream, you’ll love this record.

Along with the news of The Phoenix, the band have released a new track ‘Saturation (Strange Love)’ and its Marc Silverstein-directed video. The track features vocals from the late Chester Bennington.

Speaking about the shift in energy from Amends to The Phoenix, Dowdell explains:


It’s going to surprise a lot of people because it gets back to Chester’s core. One of the things that people love about him was his unique ability to scream in key… and this song brings you back to everything you love about that scream. You feel that angst and raw emotion he brought to everything he did.

The Phoenix will see release through Loma Vista Recordings / Concord on June 17th and you can pre-order your copy here.

The Phoenix Track Listing:

1. Saturation (Strange Love)
2. Starting To Fly
3. Be Your Man
4. Holding You (featuring Dave Navarro)
5. Hole
6. Drag
7. Believe Me (featuring Richard Patrick)
8. Anything Anything
9. Spin
10. Wake Me

Artwork for ‘The Phoenix’ by Grey Daze

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.