Los Angeles hard rockers Dorothy have been pumping out their edgy, country-tinged rock ‘n’ roll since 2014 and their new album, Gifts From The Holy Ghost, their third to date, sees them crank things up for ten more tracks of pumping hard rock.

Intriguingly, this album arrives having been born out of a life-changing experience for vocalist Dorothy Martin after a guitar technician for the band suffered an overdose on their tour bus. Having prayed for his recovery and then witnessed his return from death, the experience awakened something within the singer from which this ten-track effort was born. A ground shaker of a rock record, Gifts From The Holy Ghost drips with positivity. From the fist-pumping opener “Beautiful Life” with its wailing guitars and Martin’s anthemic vocals to the country-rock twang of “Big Guns” to the adversity-smashing anthem “Top Of The World,” this is the kind of the record that leaves you feeling like you can kick the ass of every day.

The emotional “Close To Me Always” may see Dorothy switch down the tempo a notch or two but the power inherent throughout the harder numbers still flows through the veins of this track and sees the vocalist showing off a more vulnerable side to her personality. That being said, if it’s hard-hitting rock bangers you want, Dorothy has those in abundance. Take, for example, “Black Sheep,” which follows “Close To Me Always,” where Dorothy and the band pump through a hair-shaking, fist-banging rock anthem.

Unsurprisingly, given the nature of the inspiration behind the record, emotion and positivity power the heartbeat behind every single song. From heartstring-tugging moments like “Close To Me Always” to blues-rock stompers like “Rest In Peace,” to foot-to-the-floor rockers like “Made To Die,” in Gifts From The Holy Ghost, Dorothy has created a rock record that will warm your soul.

Gifts From The Holy Ghost Track Listing:

1. Beautiful Life
2. Big Guns
3. Rest In Peace
4. Top Of The World
5. Hurricane
6. Close To Me Always
7. Black Sheep
8. Touched By Fire
9. Made To Die
10. Gifts From The Holy Ghost

Run Time: 36:56
Release Date: April 22, 2022
Record Label: Spinefarm Records


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.