Savage is the only way to describe Alone In Death, the new EP from Colorado skull-destroyers Crown Magnetar. Clocking in at twenty minutes and six tracks, the album is an absolutely mauling demonstration of blackened deathcore.

Utterly unrelenting from the title track, Alone In Death might be a route-one display, but it is delivered with such ferocity that deathcore fans will be left gasping for breath and gagging for more. Wave after wave of face-melting extremity, songs like “Hellsphere” and “Graverot” are prime black metal-stained deathcore. There is not one ounce of unnecessary fat on this EP, and it makes the Colorado maulers an absolutely monstrous prospect. From vocalist Dan Tucker’s spittle-drenched howls to the crunching blast beats to the filthy beatdowns, there is no aspect of this EP where Crown Magnetar isn’t on point.

Even hard-to-impress veterans of the genre will find it challenging to pick out any fault with the grizzled rage of tracks like “Realistic Face Mask” because there is virtually nothing negative to be found. A hellish display of dark-souled deathcore, Alone In Death is a terrifying example of brutality and, as a taster for the future, has undoubtedly put this band on the radar.

Alone in Death Track Listing:

1. Alone In Death
2. Hellsphere
3. Realistic Flesh Mask
4. The Pain of Existence
5. Graverot
6. God Is My Enemy

Run Time: 20:52
Release Date: March 25, 2022
Record Label: Unique Leader Records


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.