Connect with us

Album News

Hip-Hop innovators Dälek Share Exhilarating New Single ‘Decimation (Dis Nation)’

New Jersey hip-hop duo Dälek continue to push the boundaries of their genre with exhilarating new single “Decimation (Dis Nation)”.



Starting work on their eighth album before the outbreak of COVID-19, experimental Hip Hop pioneers, Union City, NJ-based duo Dälek have confirmed their new album, Precipice, will see release through Ipecac Recordings on April 29, 2022.

For their latest and eighth album, Dälek, predominantly the work of the core duo, Will Brooks, aka MC Dälek and Mike Manteca (Mike Mare), features a guest appearance from Adam Jones of Tool on one of the album’s tracks. The band has enlisted Paul Romano (Mastodon) for the striking cover art, and the packaging features the art of Mikel Elam.

Today the band have shared the video for their exhilarating new single, “Decimation (Dis Nation)”:

Precipice was a completely different record pre-pandemic.” MC Dälek explains. “We had been working on the sketch of what the album was going to be at the end of 2019. I think me and (Mike) Manteca had narrowed it down to 17 joints out of the 46 or so that we had started with. Me and Joshua Booth had taken the 17 and really fleshed out the joints. The idea was to bounce them back to Mike and then arrange and write lyrics. 2020 obviously had different plans for everybody. We basically put everything on hold. I ended up doing the MEDITATIONS series that year on my own. I think the catharsis of that project, its rawness, the pandemic, all the death, the social upheaval, everything that went down… when I went back and listened to what we had down… it just wasn’t right anymore, it wasn’t strong enough, it wasn’t heavy enough, it wasn’t angry enough. It just didn’t say what I needed it to say.”

With Precipice, Dälek once again create a vital statement about the world we live in. Continuing in the long tradition of revolutionary hip-hop, Precipice has been born out of tumultuous times seeing the duo push the boundaries of the genre and take their rightful place as one of the culture’s true innovators.

Precipice Track Listing:

1. Lest We Forget
2. Boycott
3. Decimation (Dis Nation) – official video
4. Good
5. Holistic
6. The Harbingers
7. Devotion (when I cry the wind disappears)
8. A Heretic’s Inheritance
9. Precipice
10. Incite

Artwork for ‘Precipice’ by Dälek

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.