Connect with us


Richard Ashcroft @ M&S Bank Arena (Liverpool, UK) on October 31, 2021 [Photos]

Britpop legend Richard Ashcroft plays two shows treating fans to a hit-laden set from his career. Check out the photos here.



Having just released his fantastic Acoustic Hymns Vol.1 album, former frontman of indie favourites The Verve, Richard Ashcroft is heading out for two massive headline shows including one at the M&S Arena in Liverpool barely twenty miles from the birthplace of the legendary singer-songwriter.

There was a massive buzz going around the arena as showtime arrived with Richard delivering a fourteen song set pulling from his time in The Verve along with his own solo material. Obviously pulling all the big hits out of the bag, the biggest surprise of the night came for Ashcroft himself who discovered his guitar wasn’t plugged in as he started the set with The Verve favourite “Sonnet”. An awkward start but one Ashcroft takes in his stride and brushes off before the night starts properly.

Richard Ashcroft @ M&S Bank Arena (Liverpool, UK) on October 29, 2021

A truly legend of British music, Ashcroft has the crowd in the palm of his hand although, as the night ends with a rousing rendition of “Bitter Sweet Symphony”, there is a danger that the crowd will drown Ashcroft out. On stage for just shy of an hour, Ashcroft treats fans to eight tracks from The Verve’s back catalogue including a brilliant “The Drugs Don’t Work” with six of his own songs including “Hold On” and “Music Is Power” making up the rest of the set. Sadly there is no sight of Liam Gallagher for the live version of “C’mon People (We’re Making It Now)” because that would have been the cherry on top of the cake for this glorious night of Northern indie with one of the legends of the scene.

Richard Ashcroft Set List:

1. Sonnet (The Verve)
2. Out of My Body
3. Space and Time (The Verve)
4. A Song for the Lovers
5. Weeping Willow (The Verve)
6. One Day (The Verve)
7. Break the Night With Colour
8. Velvet Morning (The Verve)
9. The Drugs Don’t Work (The Verve)
10. Hold On
11. Lucky Man (The Verve)
12. C’mon People (We’re Making It Now)
13. Music Is Power
14. Bitter Sweet Symphony (The Verve)