Connect with us

Album News

Converge Announce Details of Collaborative Album ‘Bloodmoon I’; Band Drop Haunting New Single ‘Blood Moon’

Hardcore icons Converge have released details of collaboration album ‘Bloodmoon I’ and posted new track ‘Blood Moon’ featuring Chelsea Wolfe.



Converge, photo by Emily Birds

Hardcore icons Converge have announced details of a new collaborative album, Bloodmoon I. The collaboration will see Converge teaming up with Chelsea Wolfe, her bandmate/writing partner Ben Chisolm, and Cave In vocalist/guitarist Stephen Brodsky and will see release on November 19, 2021 on CD/Digital via Epitaph Records and on vinyl June 24, 2022 via Deathwish.

Today, the seven-piece have offered the first glimpse of Bloodmoon: I with the lead track “Blood Moon,” and you can watch the video right here:

“We wanted to do something grander than the typical four-piece Converge music,” says Converge vocalist Jacob Bannon in reference to the inspiration that eventually bloomed into Bloodmoon: I.

The collaboration first began in 2016 at Roadburn Festival in The Netherlands where the seven-piece performed revamped Converge material under the name Blood Moon. The energy and rapturously received appearance inspired the group to want to make music together, though it would take several years before their schedules allowed. In late 2019, they were finally able to begin working on new material together at Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou’s God City Studio in Salem, Massachusetts. Future sessions were planned for 2020 but the pandemic would see the remainder of the record be finished remotely.


Produced by Ballou, Bloodmoon: I is a harrowing and atmospheric collaborative effort that sees each performer working together and outside the comfort zones in order to create something that is truly unique to the project. “I feel like everyone just kept the music in mind and wanted to do what’s best for the song,” notes Brodsky.

“The project stretched my vocals in new ways. It’s so different than what I normally sing over that I was able to open up and be vulnerable with my vocals,” says Chelsea Wolfe. “Our dynamics are pushing and pulling in all different directions on this record, and I find that to be creatively rewarding,” adds Bannon.

Bloodmoon: I Track Listing

1. Blood Moon
2. Viscera of Men
3. Coil
4. Flower Moon
5. Tongues Playing Dead
6. Lord of Liars
7. Failure Forever
8. Scorpion’s Sting
9. Daimon
10. Crimson Stone
11. Blood Dawn

Artwork for ‘Bloodmoon I’ by Converge

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.