Connect with us


Laney Lou & the Bird Dogs Will Charm You with Their New Single “Alive” [Premiere]



If you can look through the smoke, you’ll see, and hear, American bluegrass in its finest form. With lots of southern charm and class comes Laney Lou and the Bird Dogs, and their latest single “Alive,” taken from their latest album Through The Smoke. This song injects new meaning to the term singalong, bringing to mind something you’d hear pouring them back in a southern style bar while wearing your nicest cowboy hat and western shirt.

From the small city of Bozeman, Montana, this quintet is led by the delightful Lena (aka Laney) Schiffer, who has surrounded herself with a team of like-minded musical minds who just gravitate towards the southern spirit. They specialize in four-part harmonies, rock n’ roll drive, and infectious storytelling. Their stories are often joyful, longing, but also relatable, conveying heartfelt honesty meant to get you singing, dancing, and laughing.

Explaining to us the meaning behind the new single, banjoist Matt Demarais said, “‘Alive’ is an existential, anthemic bluegrass romp that highlights the obstacles and everyday nonsense that impede the pursuit of happiness. Whether it be daily news cycles, politics, religion, blind consumerism or social media, it seems that modern human beings always have something that keeps them from being truly happy with the lives they’re leading. This song spotlights and questions that plight, and, hopefully, offers a very simple solution.”

Due out on July 30th, Through the Smoke is both traditional and innovative, but always genuine and cordial. The album was recorded this past February at The Panoramic House in Stinson Beach, California, an endeavour that took the band out of their comfort zone. The songs themselves focus on personal transformation, learning to let go, processing the realities of the situation, and finding a way to move forward. There’s a certain darkness to the album, but it’s delivered with energy, and a freedom to celebrate the silver linings in life. The band hopes to convey the value of resilience and its importance in guiding us through tough times.

With Laney Lou and the Bird Dogs, there’s a certain southern comfort you’ll be happy to curl up right up into with their infectious, communal spirit.

Through the Smoke Track Listing:

1. Hi-Line
2. Up For Air
3. Bootleg
4. Burn it Down
5. Reeling
6. Black Crow
7. Ball and Chain
8. Count on You
9. Paradise
10. Feed the Beast
11. Alive

Upcoming Tour Dates:

07/29 – St John’s Summer Concert Series, Billings, MT
08/05 – The Old Saloon, Emigrant, MT (w/ The Steeldrivers)
08/06 – Bob Marshall Music Festival, Seeley Lake, MT
08/07 – Big Spring Brewing, Lewistown, MT (w/ The Steeldrivers)
08/08 – Abayance Bay Marina, Rexford, MT (w/ The Steeldrivers)
08/19 – Big Sky, Big Sky, MT
08/21 – Lewis And Clark Brewery, Helena, MT
08/28 – Summers End Festival, Hailey, ID

Artwork for ‘Through The Smoke’ by Laney Lou and the Bird Dogs