The Canadian modern metal powerhouse, Imonolith which features guitarists Kai Huppunen and Brian Waddell, vocalist Jon Howard, bassist Scott Whalen, and drummer Ryan Van Poederooyen, has dropped a bass-heavy cover of Björk’s classic track, “Army Of Me.” Moreover, they confirmed that there’s further music planned for 2021.

Drummer Ryan Van Poederooyen commented on the single, stating, “Imonolith are excited to release our version of the classic Björk hit, ‘Army of Me.’ I had an idea of how to cover the song back in 2011 and demoed it with a past project but never released it. I brought up this version to everyone in Imonolith, they dug it, so we re-recorded it with a few new twists. It’s basically a heavier version of the original song with some big modern day production. Jon did an incredible job paying respect to Björk’s vocal melodies. Musically, the chorus and a few other parts of the song get injected with some new energised patterns. We’re stoked on how it turned out and can’t wait for everyone to hear what we did with this classic song.”

The band released their debut album, State of Being, on March 27th, 2020.

State of Being Track Listing:

1. State of Being (1:17) (intro)
2. Becoming The Enemy (3:44) (feat. Johannes Eckerstrom)
3. Instinct (3:43)
4. Dig (4:12)
5. The Mourning (3:13)
6. Forgone (4:37)
7. Breathe (3:49)
8. The Reign (3:41) (feat. Jens Kidman)
9. We Never Forget (4:06)
10. Hollow (3:39)
11. Persevere (4:06)

Artwork for ‘State of Being’ by Imonolith

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.