Connect with us


Crawling Manifest’s New Lyric Video Grants You the “Right To Refrain Silence” [Premiere]



If you’re feeling restless, if you feel like raising your fist in the air, if you feel like fighting… well we got the anthem for you! Thrash metallers Crawling Manifest have given you the “Right to Refrain Silence,” with their brand new lyric video, off of the band’s latest record Radical Absolution.

Of the album’s eight songs, this is the barnburner, the livewire, the firecracker, the track that will have you rallying around the band, as they point out the very deliberate failings of our so-called leaders. It’s a rallying cry for fans to unite around and come together, in light of all of the police violence and social unrest that have overtaken society over the last year. This is a theme that reoccurs throughout the album, with Crawling Manifest really digging into the current social and political dynamic. Many of the lyrics muse on the struggles that the average person was forced to contend with in 2020, with the band intent on standing up for those whose voices remain unheard.

Regarding “Right to Refrain Silence,” the band said, “This is the album’s fight song, to give the listener that ‘get up and go’ feeling. At its core, this song is designed to hit a nerve. Especially in this last year, we’ve seen far too much in the news about police violence, and that’s something that we as a band cannot support and feel the need to speak out against. We really wanted to capture this in both the lyrics and the music. There is an intensity in this song that pushes that sentiment. We needed this song to be just as heavy and gritty as the topic we’re singing about.”

When the members of Crawling Manifest began recording new music, they originally intended on just releasing a four-song EP. Then the pandemic began, and as it began to really drag on, they realized that they had a whole album’s worth of tracks. Radical Absolution is the group’s first new full-length in five years since the release of Battlegrounds, and the follow-up to their 2019 EP, Lords of War.

Formed in 2014 on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, Andrew Gladu and Trevor Layton wanted to make Crawling Manifest a band that would take its inspiration from the heavy bands they grew up listening to, some of which they’ve had the opportunity to play with. We’re talking Fleshgod Apocalypse, Soulfly, Soilwork, Carach Angren, and Kataklysm. With a sound as vicious, brutal, and captivating as this, there’s no reason to think Crawling Manifest won’t soon be standing side by side with some of their greatest inspirations.

Radical Absolution Track Listing:

1. Land of the Free (2:27)
2. World War III (4:42)
3. Nothing to Lose (6:11)
4. Right to Refrain Silence (4:27)
5. Radical Absolution (6:49)
6. Blood Born (4:08)
7. Revolution (4:08)
8. Onslaught (5:00)

Artwork for ‘Radical Absolution’ by Crawling Manifest