Like a kid on Christmas morning, I begin ripping open my oversized, War and Peacelike package that only identifies its contents by a Motörhead sticker slathered outside the box like graffiti or propaganda. Upon viewing said contents, this is one of the best Christmas presents any rock/metalhead could receive.

Before I cut the shrink wrap off this sumbitch, let me fill you in on what’s inside. If this doesn’t make you shit your pants with Holiday glee, I don’t know what will; make sure to keep some poop paper handy as we run down the checklist of this mastodon….

• The Ace of Spades album, half-speed mastered and created from the original master tapes.
• Two double-live albums of previously unheard concerts from the Ace Up Your Sleeve tour.
A Fistful of Instrumentals: An EP of previously unreleased, instrumental tracks from 1980.
The Good, the Broke & the Ugly. A double album of B-sides, outtakes, and rare tracks.
Ace on Your Screens: A DVD compilation of rare TV appearances from 1980-81, a live concert from 1981, and a 5.1 audio mix of the original album.
• The Ace of Spades story. A 40-page book telling the story of Ace of Spades through previously unpublished interviews with the people that were there. Includes never before seen photos and memorabilia.
• The Ace Up Your Sleeve tour program.
• The Motörhead Rock Commando comic.
• A set of 5 poker dice that can be played on the game board inside the box set lid.
• All encased in a classic Wild West dynamite box.

Whew! I don’t even know where to begin, but rest assured this will fulfill your Holiday vacation with a proper opportunity to grow Lemmy warts while your family disowns your empty-beer-can, faux-English-accent ass. Run time? How many days you got? This beast is crammed full of entertainment and informational carnage. What we’re about to do is simply highlight Ace of Spades: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Box Set in less than 1500 words. Are you still with me thus far?

As I use a trusty guitar pick assigned to open LPs, the first thing I see is a parcel envelope from Motörhead that includes the Ace of Spades story, the boob-induced Rock Commando comic, the Ace Up Your Sleeve tour program, and A Fistful of Instrumentals 10 inch. On the inside cover of the box there is a gameboard and instructions for using your Ace of Spades dice set that’s included. Right here, right now, you need to take a break, get yourself a whiskey and coke, and roll a big fat doobie. This is a lot to digest and it’s only the beginning.

Next up is the classic Ace of Spades half-speed mastered LP which adds to the intensity and velocity of the original pressing. Motörhead’s “Riders Wearing Black” double live in Belfast 1981 might be the highlight of this monstrosity, but “Dead Man’s Hands” live in Orleans ain’t no slouch in this reckless abandon box set. My favourite track on the B-sides known as The Good, the Broke & the Ugly has to be my all-time favourite Motörhead track, “(We Are) The Road Crew,” which is a staple for any rock and roll youth.

For the kid or adult that wants to chase a musical dream, step one is becoming a roadie while you craft your art. You’ll learn the ins and outs of booking and playing shows while dealing with promoters, staff, management, and, IF you make it that far, “(We Are) The Road Crew” is your biblical epiphany.

On this Christmas morning, if you haven’t strangled any of your family members yet, you can indulge in the  DVD piece de resistance Ace on Your Screens, which will help segue your final night of getting the family back together before returning to your own bed. With a new year to look forward to, keep in mind this isn’t something a record company threw together to make a quick Christmas buck; there was a lot of time and thought put into this and it’s worth every penny.

Merry Christmas y’all, and to all an Ace of Spades goodnight!

Ace of Spades Track Listing:

Ace of Spades

Side One:
1. Ace of Spades
2. Love Me Like a Reptile
3. Shoot You in the Back
4. Live to Win
5. Fast and Loose
6. (We Are) The Road Crew

Side Two:
1. Fire Fire
2. Jailbait
3. Dance
4. Bite the Bullet
5. The Chase Is Better Than the Catch
6. The Hammer

A Fistful Of Instrumentals 10″

Side One:
1. Ace of Spades (Instrumental Demo)
2. Hump on Your Back (Instrumental Demo)
3. Shoot You in the Back (Instrumental Demo)
4. Fast and Loose (Instrumental Demo)

Side Two:
1. Dirty Love (Instrumental Demo)
2. Love Me Like a Reptile (Instrumental Demo)
3. Dance (Instrumental Demo)

Live At Parc Expo, Orleans – March 5, 1981

Side One:
1. Ace of Spades
2. Stay Clean
3. Over the Top
4. Metropolis
5. Shoot You in the Back

Side Two:
1. The Hammer
2. Jailbait
3. Leaving Here
4. Fire Fire
5. Love Me Like a Reptile

Side Three:
1. Capricorn
2. Too Late, Too Late
3. (We Are) The Road Crew
4. No Class

Side Four:
1. Bite the Bullet
2. The Chase Is Better Than the Catch
3. Overkill
4. Bomber

Live At Whitla Hall, Belfast – December 23, 1981

Side One:
1. Ace of Spades
2. Stay Clean
3. Over the Top
4. The Hammer
5. Shoot You in the Back
6. Metropolis

Side Two:
1. (We Are) The Road Crew
2. No Class
3. Bite the Bullet
4. The Chase Is Better Than the Catch

Side Three:
1. Jailbait
2. Leaving Here
3. Capricorn
4. Too Late, Too Late

Side Four:
1. Overkill
2. Bomber
3. Motörhead

The Good, The Broke & The Ugly

Side One:
1. Ace of Spades (Alternative Version)
2. Dirty Love
3. Love Me Like a Reptile (Alternative Long Version)
4. Shoot You in the Back (Alternative Version)

Side Two:
1. Hump on Your Back
2. FastaAnd Loose (Alternative Version)
3. (We Are) The Road Crew (Alternative Version)
4. Fire Fire (Alternative Version)
5. Jailbait (Alternative Version)

Side Three:
1. Waltz of the Vampire
2. The Hammer (Alternative Version)
3. Dirty Love (Alternative Long Version)
4. Bastard
5. Godzilla Akimbo

Side Four:
1. Love Me Like a Reptile (Alternative Version)
2. Dirty Love (Alternative Version)
3. Please Don’t Touch (Performed by Headgirl)
4. Bomber (Performed by Girlschool)
5. Emergency

Ace On Your Screens DVD

• Part 1 : Motörhead on TV 1980-1981
• Part 2 : BBC in the City; Live in Belfast ‘81
• Part 3 : 5.1 Audio Mix of Ace of Spades

Release Date: October 30, 2020
Record Label: Sanctuary Music


I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".