Unmitigated filth. Sometimes you need an album to come along that is just unhinged, unmitigated filth. So, ladies and gentlemen, if that sounds like you then I suggest you turn your attention to this slab of ferocity from Werewolves. Right from the outset, as the intro howls “The power of Satan changes men into beasts” and the record literally explodes into opener “Establish Dominance,” you’re left in no doubt that you’ll need to strap in for one hell of a ride.

The Australian outfit, comprising of Matt Wilcock and Sam Bean from grind/death metallers The Berzerker along with Dave Haley, drummer from tech-death gods, Psycroptic, pull no punches with this album. There are no fancy bits, it’s just straight out, hammer-your-balls-to-the-wall brutality. Simplistic riffing rages alongside unrelenting drumming, as opener “Establish Dominance” sinks its filthy groove into your skull and “Dogknotted” spews straight from the grindcore school of extremity. The appropriately named “Fountains Of Bile” sees the band continue the onslaught at a skull-mashing pace while the jolly ditty “Beating Those We Despise” offers the blastbeat-weary listener absolutely no fucking respite whatsoever.

Now, some reviews have pointed out that there is very little in the way of variety offered up here but it’s surprising that some people are looking for variety in an album called The Dead Are Screaming. Personally, if I put on a record like this, I’m wanting thirty-odd minutes of face-pummelling filth and that is exactly what the likes of “Gnaw Their Bones” delivers. Now, if you know your extreme metal history, you’ll probably agree that this album veers more down the route one approach of The Berzerker than the technical fury of Psycroptic but you’ll probably only realise that by the time the group have finished pummelling your head into mush.

The Dead Are Screaming is an album for out-n-out extreme metal fans. It’s not for those who like to dabble in the genre. If you want that then go and listen to Iowa or one of the more mainstream “brutal” metal releases. Werewolves are unashamedly single-minded in their goal. As “Showering Teeth” sees the album hurtling to the finish line at a breathtaking pace, you won’t be surprised to hear that The Dead Are Screaming has delivered everything hardcore death/grind fans will have been wanting from it. Nothing more. Nothing Less.

The Dead Are Screaming Track Listing:

1. Establish Dominance
2. Know Your Place
3. Dogknotted
4. Fountains of Bile
5. No More Heroes
6. Beating Those We Despise
7. Gnaw Their Bones
8. Irate
9. Showering Teeth

Run Time: 32:12
Release Date: April 24, 2020
Record Label: Prosthetic Records


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.