Luke Hoskin, Michael Ieradi, Rody Walker, and Tim MacMillar, the musicians who are collectively known as Protest The Hero will release a new album on June 19th! Titled Palimpsest, the ten-track album is the band’s first in four years, since 2016’s Pacific Myth. Details including the tracklisting and cover artwork can be found below, along with the video for the album’s lead single “The Canary.”

Hoskin commented on the news, saying, “Palimpsest is by far the most challenging record we have worked on. The writing and recording process saw so many delays, it’s honestly hard to keep them straight. We are very proud of how each hurdle was handled though, and the end result is a record that we believe is deserving of such an endeavor.”

Elaborating further, Rody Walker, also shares, “This record was extremely difficult for me personally. With my first child on the way, I built a studio in my basement to ensure I wasn’t leaving my wife alone with a new child for weeks on end. I haven’t left my house since. What made it most difficult was the change in my voice. During our final tour just before we were set to start recording, I blew my voice out, and it didn’t come back. I spent a long time fighting with it trying to bounce back and failing. Finally, through coaching and rehearsal, I got it back in shape. For the first time in my life singing felt like an actual job and I’m still pissed about it. I have never worked harder to put out music in my life and I am extremely proud of the product.”

Palimpsest Track Listing:

1. The Migrant Mother
2. The Canary
3. From the Sky
4. All Hands
5. The Fireside
6. Soliloquy
7. Reverie
8. Little Snakes
9. Gardenias
10. Rivet

Artwork for ‘PALIMPSEST’ by Protest The Hero

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.