Connect with us

Album Review

Embrace – ‘Drawn From Memory’ (Vinyl Reissue) [Album Review]



Long out-of-print on vinyl since their original release, Embrace‘s first three albums get reissued on vinyl this week. Over here in North America Drawn From Memory and If You’ve Never Been are getting cut to vinyl domestically. Fans of The Good Will Out will have to order their copies from the UK. Drawn From Memory and If You’ve Never Been are also being issued digitally for the first time here. Both are now available to stream or download in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.

Following in the footsteps of Oasis and The Verve, Embrace became a pop sensation in post-Brit-pop Britain, breaking through in the late ‘90s. The group—hailing from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England—had a knack for big, anthemic hooks, which they transform into sweeping, sprawling, lugubrious rockers. While their material never really cracked our marketplace, their sound can be compared to artists like Snow Patrol and The Script.

The vinyl repressing for Drawn From Memory comes with a full-colour interior sleeve complete with lyrics. The 180 gram LP was pressed at Memphis Record Pressing and features the singles “Hooligan,” “You’re Not Mine,” “Save Me,” and “I Wouldn’t Wanna Happen To You.” These early recordings sound so warm and open on LP. It makes owning them this way totally worth it. Opting for the vinyl really does heighten the listening experience, especially on the quieter tracks.

The original pressings of these albums have been fetching inflated prices on the aftermarket. Now is your chance to experience them for a regular price. When Drawn From Memory was initially released in 1998, the album spent 20 weeks in the UK Top 100, and the band went on to tour the country, supported by Coldplay.


Drawn From Memory Track Listing:

Side A:
1. The Love It Takes
2. You’re Not Alone
3. Save Me
4. Drawn From Memory
5. Bunker Song
6. New Adam New Eve
7. I Had A Time

Side B:
8. Hooligan
9. Yeah You
10. Liars Tears
11. I Wouldn’t Wanna Happen To You

Run Time: 48:11
Release Date: March 20, 2020
Record Label: Craft Recordings