If you like things dark and heavy, you’re going to want to familiarize yourself with Shortwave Research Group as soon as possible. In fact, just today the artist announced the May 8th release of his third full-length recording, Fabryka, via Social Proof. The eight-track album, written over a two-year period between London and Berlin, builds on the artist’s dark ambient foundation and layers in influences from techno, hip-hop more.

Fabryka was mastered by Mark at Calyx Mastering and features cover artwork by Punkt Widzenia. According to a recent news release, the artist “…experiments with applying the heft of these physical structures to sound waves, weaving together influences ranging from minimalism, drone and cinematic scores to heavy drum and bass music. The result is music designed to be experienced on the biggest, most powerful club systems but that explicitly deconstructs, subverts and re-configures the language of the sounds typically delivered to club-going audiences.”

Fabryka Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Hostile Environment
3. Fabryka
4. Perpetual Midnight
5. Fabryka Interlude
6. Coherence
7. Linear B
8. Citizen Of Nowhere

Artwork for ‘Fabryka’ by Shortwave Research Group

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.