You wouldn’t assume that a band who call themselves Kukahi And The Love Machine would want to “RAGE!“ but who are we to question things? That’s just what this Hawaiian pop-rock band is doing today with the debut of their new single and music video featuring lead singer Kūkahi strapped in a straight jacket looking very uneasy in a psychiatric ward. We can only watch and observe as Kūkahi fights with his inner demons with intermixed shots of the band performing the song. The song stems from the new album Pure, due for release on April 24th. Discover more of Kūkahi’s music on Apple Music.

Commenting on the song, Kūkahi explained the origins of where it came from; “‘Rage’ came from a place of vulnerability. I was going through some things at the time and I felt really depressed. And the more I thought about it the more frustrated I became and it went on and on until I felt like I didn’t want to go on anymore. I started to question my existence but I also felt like I needed to create more music. It’s hard when you are going through that. It’s like fighting with demons who use your own thoughts against you. You feel helpless. This album became my outlet. ‘Rage!’ was written to describe how it feels like to go through mental anguish.”

Added co-lead singer Maka, “I like the feel of the song, I like it stripped down and bare because it contrasts with the angry melodies and the punchy beats. I think the volatile lyrics of this song mirrors the way people feel when we are dealing with personal issues that feel like a struggle. I think most of us have been in situations where we feel helpless but we try to find a way to move through it and get on with life. I also believe that there are a lot of people who are feeling rage like this. Hopefully, this song can help send a positive message to those who need to hear that life can go on and can even become more beautiful if we want it to be. We just have to fight however we can, whether it’s by seeking help, or by finding a positive outlet. I’m hoping that it’s a reminder to people to believe in themselves because life is worth living.“

The album Pure comes from a place of deep emotion for Kūkahi, who was determined to remain true to his alternative rock roots. Its writing and recording was a process which he refers to as freeing since it ultimately has acted as a form of therapy for him. It’s something of a musical diary with half of it written during and after a rough breakup, and many songs acting as an outlet from all the pain, heartbreak and depression he had to cope with. Now at the young age of 20, Kūkahi has gotten back to what he loves doing the most, making music and feely expressing himself through his voice and his words.

Pure Track Listing:

01. Famous
02. Attitude
03. Son of God
04. BOOM
05. Touch Me
06. Airplane Fud
07. RAGE!
08. The World Will Be Mine
09. Battle Scars
10. Right Here
11. Mother
12. Philosophy
13. In The End


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.