Back for its 66th year, Newport Jazz Festival will be held from August 7 to 9th at Fort Adams State Park and the International Tennis Hall of Fame at the Newport Casino in Newport, Rhode Island. The first major list of artists has been revealed, including headliners Norah Jones, Wynton Marsalis and Diana Krall. At this time, with the exception of the Friday evening concert at the International Tennis Hall of Fame, all tickets are now on sale.

This year’s annual event will, according to a recent press release, feature “Incredible ensembles, global superstars, legendary instrumentalists and genre-bending up-and-comers” curated by Artistic Director Christian McBride and founder George Wein.

McBride commented, “This year’s Newport Jazz Festival continues the tradition of presenting jazz, as George Wein would say, ‘from J to Z.’ For three days in August, all eyes and ears in the jazz world focus on what happens at Newport. It’s a thrill to present everyone from the great Wynton Marsalis, who’s making his first appearance at the festival in 9 years, to Diana Krall, who’s making her first appearance at the festival in over 20 years. We welcome back old friends like Charles Lloyd, who served as our artist-in-residence in 2018, and Robert Glasper, who serves as this year’s artist-in-residence. Newport Jazz has always featured artists from all areas, from Chuck Berry to Mahalia Jackson to Aretha Franklin to James Brown to Led Zeppelin to the Allman Brothers. Since 2017, artists like The Roots, Common, Living Colour and George Clinton and more have all played the festival. This year, Newport Jazz presents reggae legend, Jimmy Cliff. Oh yes, this year’s going to be deep. Norah Jones is back after her smashing 2016 Newport debut, Avery*Sunshine makes her debut, as does vibraphonist Warren Wolf. There’s just way too many great artists to name. Just make sure you come. You won’t be disappointed!”

The first wave of artists for the 2020 Newport Jazz Festival are:

Friday, August 7, 2020 – Fort Adams State Park
• Norah Jones
• Jimmy Cliff
• Robert Glasper
• A Christian McBride Situation
• Chris Potter Circuits Trio
• Nicholas Payton
• Catherine Russell
• The History of Jazz
• Tuba Skinny
• Vince Giordano & The Night Hawks
• David Ostwald’s Louis Armstrong Eternity Band
• Mike Davis’ The New Wonders
• Colin Hancock & His Signature Seven

Saturday, August 8, 2020 – Fort Adams State Park
• Wynton Marsalis
• Angélique Kidjo’s Remain In Light
• Robert Glasper
• Charles Lloyd Kindred Spirits
• Makaya McCraven
• Nate Smith + KINFOLK
• The Jazz Gallery All-Stars
• The Comet is Coming
• Arturo/Zack/Adam O’Farrill Quintet
• Avery*Sunshine
• Michela Marino Lerman – Love Movement
• Miguel Zenón Quartet

Sunday, August 9, 2020 – Fort Adams State Park
• Diana Krall
• Khruangbin
• Robert Glasper
• Maria Schneider Orchestra
• Joe Lovano “Trio Tapestry”
• Hiromi
• Cory Wong
• The Soul Rebels
• Jeff “Tain” Watts
• Nubya Garcia
• Warren Wolf and Wolfpack
• Somi


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.