World-renowned guitar virtuoso, Joe Satriani as not only confirmed the release of his upcoming album, Shapeshifting, but has unveiled the lead single “Nineteen Eighty.” The studio recording is due out via Sony Music/Legacy Recordings on April 10th and can now be pre-ordered here. Packages include CD and black vinyl versions, plus an exclusive translucent blue coloured, signed vinyl via the D2C store. UK tour dates can be found below with U.S. dates to come.

Loaded with collaborators including drummer Kenny Aronoff (John Fogerty), bassist Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction), keyboardist Eric Caudieux, Lisa Coleman (The Revolution), and Christopher Guest, Shapeshifting was co-produced by Satriani and Jim Scott (Foo Fighters, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers) and mastered by John Cuniberti.

As heard on the lead single “Nineteen Eighty,” there’s a retro sound to the music. Satriani commented, “I’ve always been a huge fan of Eddie Van Halen. In my mind, he just crystallized that era. The late ‘70s and early ‘80s, he kind of saved rock guitar. So that’s what I would have been doing.”

Shapeshifting Track LIsting:

01. Shapeshifting
02. Big Distortion
03. All For Love
04. Ali Farka, Dick Dale, an Alien and Me
05. Teardrops
06. Perfect Dust
07. Nineteen Eighty
08. All My Friends Are Here
09. Spirits, Ghosts and Outlaws
10. Falling Stars
11. Waiting
12. Here The Blue River
13. Yesterday’s Yesterday

“The Shapeshifting” 2020 UK Tour:

May 22 – Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion
May 23 – Glasgow O2 Academy
May 24 – Sage Gateshead
May 25 – Manchester Bridgewater Hall
May 26 – London Palladium
May 28 – Birmingham Symphony Hall


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.