Connect with us


New Week! New Noizes! Episode #69 (w/SKY VALLEY MISTRESS, WHITE STONES, PURGE and More)

Our mailbox is flooded on a daily basis with new sounds, so we’ve rounded up ten of our favourites to get you through the next seven days. Enjoy!



It’s the start of another week at PureGrainAudio so, to set you going, we’ve pulled together eight new songs, videos, and bands that have recently landed in our inbox that we think you should check out. Enjoy!

01. Sky Valley Mistress – “Skull & Pistons”
– Blackburn band Sky Valley Mistress, who are releasing their debut album in March on New Heavy Sounds, have shared the video for new single, “Skull & Pistons”. The video features footage of their time out in the California desert where they recorded with Dave Catching (QOTSA, Iggy Pop) at his Rancho de la Luna studio.

02. Cabal – “Bitter Friend”
– Danish heavyweights Cabal will release their second album, Drag Me Down, on 3rd April on Long Branch Records and you can check out the new single, “Bitter Friend”, featuring an appearance from Trivium‘s Matt Heafy here.

03. Our City Fires – “Runaway”
– Following the late 2019 announcement of Foundations, the Leicester-based five-piece alternative rock band Our City Fires have unleashed “Runaways”, the first video single to be drawn from the band’s forthcoming EP.

04. Husbandry – “Ghostload”
– Brooklyn’s genre-defying, experimental heavy rock band Husbandry have released a new video for their track “Ghostload” from their recent, 2nd full-length album, A Port In A Storm.

05. Greg Dulli – “Pantomima”
Greg Dulli, frontman of The Afghan Whigs and The Twilight Singers, recently announced his first-ever solo record, Random Desire out February 21st via Royal Cream/BMG. Check out the music video for the single, “Pantomima” directed by long-time Whigs collaborator Philip Harder who also stars in the video.

06. Envy – “A Faint New World”
– Influential Japanese hardcore band Envy release The Fallen Crimson on February 7th through Pelagic Records and you can check out a new track from the album in the form of “A Faint New World”.

07. Purge – “Influenza”
– Featuring former Hacktivist producer/guitarist Timfy James, former Your Demise vocalist George Noble, Heart Of A Coward bassist Vishal Khetia and drummer Perry Smith, UK newcomers Purge have just released their new single and video for “Influenza”.

08. Space of Variations – “Slowmo”
– Hailing from the Ukraine, modern metal quartet Space of Variations are preparing for their upcoming February tour with a new video for “Slowmo”. Check it out here.

09. The Snuts – “Fatboy Slim”
– Ahead of their biggest headline tour, The Snuts have released their new single “Fatboy Slim” and you can check out what promises to be one of the anthems of the year right here.

10. Whites Stones – “Worms”
– A solo death metal project of Martin Mendez, bassist with Opeth, White Stones have given a taster of their new album, Kuarahy, in the form of “Worms”.

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.