Saying Midnight and sophistication in the same sentence is like saying Motorhead or Venom are aristocrats, but, wait a minute…wait just one fucking minute…because that’s exactly where Ohio’s death riders Midnight find themselves with their Metal Blade Records debut, Rebirth by Blasphemy. While the world transforms into Post Malone wearing Gatecreeper shirts or the Kardashians wearing Slayer shirts, hell has truly frozen over content to text and there’s nothing wrong with that. WHAT?! Let me brush my teeth with a brillo pad, gargle muriatic acid and regurgitate the sophisticated part.

I still love to discover the undiscovered and, delving deep into Hells Headbangers vault many moons ago, I unearthed underground sensations Midnight and bought up everything I could find including bootlegs, LPs, cassettes and DVDs.

Lone henchman Athenar conceived a master plan as the sole member recording guitar, bass, drums and vokills himself, confirming his vision as the visual aggressor. Tracks like “Fucking Speed and Darkness,” “Cursed Possessions” and “Raw Attack” showcase the band has the potential for ultimate revenge while the ending buccaneer “Drag Me Through Fire” sounds like a lost track from Def Leppard’s magnum opus High And Dry.

Get a taste of the album with the “Rebirth by Blasphemy” single.

Rebirth by Blasphemy is as dirty as you can get – next to GG Allin’s shit-stained underwear, Bon Scotts’ last bottle of whiskey or Lemmy’s wart collection – and the only negative thing I can say about the album is the production levels jump all over the place, making the aural experience a bit bumpy. But to the average listener, you’ll never notice, and to the underground metal fan, who gives a fuck.

I’m truly bewitched to see where this denim and leather-clad band takes themselves, and, with the death of Motorhead, the world needs more dirty, infectious rock and roll. Not pop star, death metal bands.

Rebirth by Blasphemy Track Listing:

01. Fucking Speed and Darkness
02. Rebirth by Blasphemy
03. Escape the Grave
04. Devil’s Excrement
05. Rising Scum
06. Warning from the Reaper
07. Cursed Possessions
08. Raw Attack
09. The Sounds of Hell
10. You Can Drag Me Through Fire

Run Time: 32:07
Release Date: January 24, 2020
Record Label: Metal Blade Records

Midnight take aim at the “Rising Scum.”

I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".