Connect with us


GOO GOO DOLLS and BEACH SLANG Crank Out the Hits at Toronto’s Queen Elizabeth Theatre [Photos & Show Review]

Buffalo natives Goo Goo Dolls proved why they are still going strong when they dropped by the Queen Elizabeth Theatre on their “Miracle Pill Tour” along with Philadelphia punk rockers Beach Slang.



Goo Goo Dolls (w/ Beach Slang) at Queen Elizabeth Theatre (Toronto, Ontario) on November 25, 2019

Buffalo, New York natives Goo Goo Dolls dropped by the Queen Elizabeth Theatre on their “Miracle Pill Tour” along with Philadelphia punk rockers Beach Slang. Kind of an odd bill, but it seemed to work.

Beach Slang opened up the evening and soon after, singer James Alex announced that he’d only been in Canada about ten hours, but exclaimed to the audience, “holy fuck am I drunk.” At one point he kind of fell over backward and was on the ground still playing guitar when someone ran out from side stage with what looked like maybe a shot glass of something, after which he jumped back to his feet and played on. It was an entertaining and solid set.

The first three songs Beach Slang played were “Noisy Heaven,” “Punk or Lust,” and “Bad Art & Weirdo Ideas.”

Just “Spin The Dial” to check out this Beach Slang music video:

Tonight’s headliners, Goo Goo Dolls, hit the stage next. With 30ish years under their belt, our nearby neighbours out of Buffalo have a lot of musical stuff to make for quite a long set of some old, some new tunes, some acoustic guitar, some electric guitar.

Singer/Guitarist Johnny Rzeznik played acoustic guitar for a few tunes then switched to electric for the next few, it was a solid set. Bassist Robby Takac was all smiles and seemed to be having a blast, getting the audience to clap along with a couple of songs. Pretty lucky to be that happy going to work the last 30+ years!

Check out the music video for the title track from Goo Goo Dolls’ latest record Miracle Pill:

Goo Goo Dolls Toronto Setlist:

01. Indestructible
02. Home
03. Slide
04. Miracle Pill
05. Black Balloon
06. Here Is Gone
07. Life’s A Message
08. Another Second Time Around
09. Souls In The Machine
10. So Alive
11. Sympathy
12. Name
13. Fearless
14. Stay With You
15. Bringing On The Light
16. Tattered Edge/ You Should Be Happy
17. Let Love In
18. Broadway
19. Autumn Leaves
20. Iris

Goo Goo Dolls’ twelfth studio album Miracle Pill was released on September 13th, 2019, via Warner Records: