Norwegian folk two-piece Darling West has confirmed a February 7th, 2020 release of their upcoming album We’ll Never Know Unless We Try via Jansen Records. Accompanying the news is the lead single “Hey There,” of which the band commented, “It’s not always easy to be inspired to write songs when everything feels good and you’re content. Usually, it all just comes out cheesy and it feels awkward. ‘Hey There’ came together in that kind of moment. We decided to put all fear of cliches aside and just celebrate the beauty of the connection between two people and true love as we know it.”

We’ll Never Know Unless We Try, which was produced by Kåre Chr. Vestrheim (Marit Larsen, Highasakite) and recorded in Oslo at Propeller Studios, sees the Nordic duo (Mari Sandvær Kreken and Tor Egil Kreken), continue to put their own thumbprint on American songwriting traditions.

Speaking of the album, the musicians said, “After two years of intense touring, and meeting tons of people, we are left with a feeling that there are many good forces at work in the world, even though the state of things can sometimes seem hopeless. Even though it wasn’t a planned theme in the songwriting process, we seem to have been inspired by this, and that hope and encouragement has become a common thread in our lyrical universe this time around.”

We’ll Never Know Unless We Try Track Listing:

01. Hey There
02. Make It Last
03. Can’t Help It
04. River
05. Try
06. True Friends
07. Home
08. The Calling
09. Hold On
10. When Mountains Fall

Artwork for ‘We’ll Never Know Unless We Try’ by Darling West

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.